building confidence one trial at a time.

5 04 2011

Are you confident in yourself?
Why?

Is it because you were given 5 gold stars by your 2nd grade teacher and because someone told you that you were special?
Is it because you have faced adversity head on and somehow came out the other side?
Maybe you’re just naturally confident?

People call my generation the “entitled” generation. They think we walk around believing we should have everything we want and that we feel we deserve it.
Fair enough.
But this is a direct result of the manner society raised us. We were told we were special. Participation trophies were handed out. Gold stars were given to every kid. We are all special.


Too bad none of this is true.
I recently posted something on the MMB web site called, “Life Lessons Learned from Breakdancing“.
No one is entitled to anything.

Confidence doesn’t come from gold stars, participation trophies and “atta boys” handed out like candy on Halloween.

I hear countless kids say “I can’t” or “this is too hard”.
And some kids look absolutely shocked when I tell them they are doing something completely wrong. If it’s wrong, it’s wrong. No free gold stars.

I owe the confidence I have in myself to the trials, challenges, difficulties I have met and survived.
Breakdancing is hard, it’s hard to fall, bleed, bruise and ache over and over again. But when I get the move eventually, my confidence sky-rockets.

My mission?
One of the hardest things I’ve ever done. When I finished that, I felt like I could do anything.

Trials and challenges build confidence.
It sucks going through it at the time…. but man, it feels good on the other end.

And just in case you’re struggling to find confidence builders – here is the ultimate confidence builder…
“Ye are the children of the Lord your God…” (Deuteronomy 14:1)
You are a child of God. That is worth more than any amount of gold stars or participation trophies.

? Where does your confidence come from?

Actions

Information

One response

5 04 2011
Bridget

I knew I could seriously do ANYTHING when I birthed my first child with no pain killers. That took mental and physical stamina I didn’t know for sure I had. Until I did it. I was on top of the world.

Leave a Reply

