possessions and professions.

3 04 2011

The Savior was a humble carpenter, but that hardly defined His life.” (Elder Lynn G. Robbins)

I was just flipping through my Twitter feed to see what everyone was tweeting about conference and noticed several people quoted Elder Robbins.

Often we associate professions and possessions with our personal worth.
What a tragedy.
If our bank accounts/homes and cars were the measuring stick by which we achieved value there would be entire countries that would be considered of little or no worth.

Often, those humble souls are the greatest among us.
“And there came a certain poor widow, and she threw in two mites, which make a farthing.

And he called unto him his disciples, and saith unto them, Verily I say unto you, That this poor widow hath cast more in, than all they which have cast into the treasury:

For all they did cast in of their abundance; but she of her want did cast in all that she had, even all her living.” (Mark 12:42-44)

I’m very ambitious. I want to acquire certain things and reach certain positions in my career.
Those are goals. But they mean NOTHING without the Gospel and without my family. My worth is not based on accomplishing those goals. It’s based on my success in my home and in my ability to integrate the Gospel into my life.

I was SO grateful for Elder Scott’s remarks about his wife…
I was inspired and uplifted by the love he has for his wife and the motivation she has given him to do better each day so that he can see her again.

“No amount of success outside the home can compensate for failure within the home…”

Aside from the many remarks about the welfare program, there seemed to be a lot of focus on marriage and families. General Conference always has exactly what I need…

? What did you enjoy most about General Conference this year?

Actions

Information

3 responses

3 04 2011
Bridget

I think I appreciated the parenting talk most. It has some very practical suggestions in it that I need to dissect and apply to my individual children. Can’t wait until the print version is available.

3 04 2011
kylekealohaaldous

I agree- I’m already excited to be able to read some of the talks!

4 04 2011
Bridget

So I just found the talk I liked and listened to it again…I’m so unfamiliar with Elder Robbins that I didn’t recognize it was him you quoted in your post. Ha ha. Yes, that was my favorite one and now I’ll remember Elder Robbin’s name.

Leave a Reply

