General Conference & the burger bar.

2 04 2011

Leah got tickets to General Conference through her work. (Utah Valley Magazine) The tickets were awesome because they came with a parking pass that let us park right across from the Conference center for free!

The morning session was great and it is always special being inside the Conference center with so many different people from all over the world gathered together to listen to the prophets and apostles.

I didn’t get a lot out of the morning session. I know, I know – shame on me. The session was great, but nothing really stood out and really caught me. I know why, but first let me tell you about our trip to the Burger Bar. Burger Bar was featured on the Food Network’s show; Diner’s, Drive-in’s and Dives. We decided since we were in SLC already, it wouldn’t be too bad to drive up to Roy, Utah to try out this little shack.

It was good. I got an Elk burger (it was good, but not great). However, the shake and fries were great. We both really enjoyed them. Would I drive back up to Roy just to partake? Nah. I’ll stick to Smashburger (my current favorite burger place).

Ok – so back to my inability to take anything away from Conference this morning. My problem was that I didn’t go with questions in mind. Tonight I went to priesthood with 3 very specific questions that I have been struggling with for the past few months. As I sat down in the stake center by myself in the very back I begged Heavenly Father to help me receive the guidance I needed.

This is only the second time (that I can remember) where I have entered a meeting just begging to receive something. Both times I have received more than I ever imagined I would. There were VERY specific things said tonight that I literally felt I was in a room one on one with the speaker having my question answered and my heart filled with peace and comfort.

I know that when we are earnest in our desire to improve and receive inspiration on how to do that, that Heavenly Father will open the windows of Heaven and we will be receive exactly what He knows we need. I needed specific counsel tonight and I am amazed and grateful that I received what I needed.
“Whatsoever thing ye shall ask in faith, believing that ye shall receive in the name of Christ, ye shall receive it.” (Enos 1:15)

? What has been your favorite Conference talk so far?

Actions

Information

4 responses

3 04 2011
Charis

If you desire continual revelation you must remember that when you are given this counsel you must FOLLOW IT! Failure to do so will shut the windows back up until you are willing to do so! I love you!

3 04 2011
Brandon Ethington

Great for you, I think this is something that we all struggle with, to keep it constant is an even bigger challenge.

also, nice stop by the Burger Bar, I have been wanting to go there to try their triple fried french fries and they mondo big burger, but haven’t had a chance yet.

3 04 2011
kylekealohaaldous

The fries were awesome!! Leah got the Big Ben burger and liked it…

3 04 2011
Untypically Jia

We went to a place in Santa Fe where D,D&D had been and it wasn’t that great to be honest.

So far my favourite talk has of course been by the Prophet. Seriously am I the only one who’s thinking about planning a trip to Rome in a few years?

Leave a Reply

