milk before meat.

29 03 2011

I teach 2 breakdance classes:
Beginner.
Intermediate.

The beginner class is filled with young kids. I think most of them are under 10-11. Don’t let their age fool you though, they know how to get down. A couple guys learned this the hard way tonight.

I had 2 teenage guys show up for the Beginner class tonight. They don’t have any experience in bboying. Their mom brought them in couple minute after class, but both boys were adamant they were too good for the kids class. Haha

Have a look at one of my five year-old students, Jewelz.

10 minutes after the 2 teens watched class through the window outside the door opened and the two teens suddenly felt like they might actually need to take the Beginner class after all.

This has happened several times over the past few years. I laugh because I know they NEED the beginner class. I know they are so wrong to assume they can skip the foundation. It’s funny to me because I know I’ve done this exact same thing multiple times in my own life.

In fact, I still do it. I tell Leah all the time I don’t need her help with the “easy” stuff. I’ll just figure it out. I’m always wrong. I need all the help I can get. But there is something about pride that always seems to trick us into thinking we are better than we really are.

We all need the foundation laid first, then we can advance.
“must receive milk because they cannot bear meat…” (D&C 19:22)

? Have you ever tried skipping ahead a few steps and then found out you were totally lost because you didn’t start at the beginning?

Actions

Information

4 responses

30 03 2011
Vivian

Is that kid really 5? wow he’s amazing! Ok so I am so getting my son in with you…he’s almost 5… do you have other 5 year olds in the class? Where do you teach? send me an email and let me know the info. And yes I’m always skipping steps, sometimes it works sometimes it doesn’t…and then I get a lesson on PRIDE πŸ˜‰

30 03 2011
kylekealohaaldous

Well, she actually just turned six…. but just barely! haha I teach at Center Stage Dance Studio in Orem. It’s just off the 800 North exit. My beginner class is Tuesday nights at 6:00 PM. You guys are more than welcome to come try out the class!

31 03 2011
Vivian

Of course I know Center Stage!! My oldest will start ballroom there next fall. There really is no other place I would put her in for ballroom. She already does other styles at UDA which is closer to home. I’m sure you’ll be seeing us…hope E’ is as excited as I am! πŸ™‚

1 04 2011
kylekealohaaldous

Center Stage is the place to be!!!

Leave a Reply

