tgif.

25 03 2011

TGIF on ABC was life changing as a kid.

Full House.
Family Matters.
Boy Meets World.
Step By Step.

That 2 hour block of programming was classic.

Name a show today that is done in the same style as one of these shows. The lessons we were meant to garner from them was presented so boldly it was impossible to miss.
Don’t drink.
Don’t do drugs.
Don’t steal.
Be kind.
Family is first.

“We believe in being honest, true, chaste, benevolent, virtuous, and in doing good to all men; indeed, we may say that we follow the admonition of Paul—We believe all things, we hope all things, we have endured many things, and hope to be able to endure all things. If there is anything virtuous, lovely, or of good report or praiseworthy, we seek after these things.” (Article of Faith 13)

Where can I watch a show that shares those exact same lessons?
I’m not sure there is one.
But if you think of one I’d love to hear it.

So for now, as I sit here reminiscing about TGIF, I’ll turn to another show filled with different types of life lessons.

Not quite the lessons I learned from TGIF -but you can’t go wrong with: “never, ever, ever give up.” Thanks Michael.

? What was your favorite TGIF show?

Actions

Information

9 responses

25 03 2011
Untypically Jia

I was in love with Boy Meets World! But the later seasons were my favourite, the college seasons. I actually hate watching the Jr High and High School episodes. My favourites are after Corey and Topanga are married and Corey becomes awkwardly funny and a hypochondriac.

26 03 2011
Brandon Ethington

nice, oh the good old days. it took me time to get use to the office, but I agree that there are many life lessons, especially the way that Jim treats Pam, we all could take a lesson from him.

26 03 2011
kylekealohaaldous

For sure – Jim is a solid guy! He knows how to treat a lady…

26 03 2011
Holly

Although it follows an unconventional and slightly dysfunctional family I think Modern Family actually has some good messages on the importance of family. I was actually surprised. But they also bring in some things that aren’t so great.

26 03 2011
kylekealohaaldous

Agreed. Modern Family has definitely had some episodes with solid messages! Plus it’s so freaking funny!

26 03 2011
ashley

thursday nights are the new tgif. community, parks and rec, the office, 30 rock…it’s a tgit for grown-ups…since the lessons aren’t EXACTLY the same haha

26 03 2011
kylekealohaaldous

I LOVE it! TGIT! Yeah Thursday is a pretty solid night!

29 03 2011
Sarah

I loved TGIF!! I remember being so mad because one night the episodes were overrun by the OJ car chase and we had to follow that dumb bronco around LA on all of the channels. It’s funny all of the random things I remember. It was during Family Matters.

29 03 2011
kylekealohaaldous

Hahahaha! I remember the OJ car chase as well because it interrupted the NBA Finals that the Rockets were playing in!!! haha

Leave a Reply

