more than just a loss.

24 03 2011

First off – thanks for all of the great exercise advice and thoughts! I loved hearing from you guys!

Today was just one of those days.
We all have them. You run from task to task only to look back at the end of the day and realize you are not even close to being done. I’m working on our store web site right now in one of the many tabs I have open. (I keep too many tabs open all at once according to my wife-haha)

BYU played their Sweet 16 game against Florida tonight.
Have you ever wanted a team to win so badly that you felt connected to the outcome? I don’t know if it was because of my long (somewhat rough) day or if it’s something else – but I felt more connected to this particular game than any game I’ve watched recently in any sport.

When BYU lost tonight, I actually felt like I lost.
Maybe I felt like I was lost.
I think I felt like a loser briefly.
I’m not sure.

I was crushed. And for about 20 minutes after the game I wallowed. Oh man. It was pretty pitiful, but it felt good.

I’m a strong believer in giving yourself some time to mope at certain times. It’s good. You set a time limit and let yourself get it all out and then you can move on. Now I’m here working on this web site and feeling pretty good about everything I have accomplished today. It’s been a productive day (even though I’m not close to being done). I’m feeling grateful.

” I am very thankful before God this day that I am yet alive…” (Mosiah 7:12)

I can’t wait for everyone to see this new web site, it’s incredible. Our design team dow in Texas just knocked it out of the park with this one. All I’m doing is writing all the content, taking and then uploading pictures and then managing the site. They did a fantastic job. It should go live tomorrow, so I’ll post a link….

I guess I should get back to work.

? Do you ever just let yourself mope for a bit?

Actions

Information

One response

24 03 2011
Vivian

Ohh… I felt that loss deeply within me, too! But that’s not the only reason why lately I’ve been moping. And you know what? I have found that moping it’s actually sort of therapeutic because it makes you appreciate and enjoy 10 time more when something good comes along. I still feel like moping a little while longer though… 😉

Leave a Reply

