exercise as a habit.

23 03 2011

How many of you guys exercise regularly? (by that I mean at least 2-3 times/week)
When do you like to exercise?
What do you do?

Lots of questions, I know. I’m just curious. Last night my friend Josie came and taught my teen breakdance class. She started the class with conditioning.

Whoa. What?
Conditioning. Really?

Shoot, I probably should’ve been doing that a long time ago. Haha
And because I haven’t been conditioning myself lately, I can still feel last night in my abs.
Typically when I wake up after practice it’s my neck, back, and wrists that ache. Today my stomach has been sore. All day!

Oh geez. Since I’ve been married my practice time has dropped to twice a week.

Once upon a time I practiced 5-6 days a week for a couple hours each day and for awhile I would start practice with some conditioning. Ah yes, those were the glory days. At least in terms of physical performance. I do feel a little sluggish now.
Ugh.

When you got married did you tell yourself that you would keep exercising and that nothing would change?
I totally did.
I still get a little exercise in each week – it just doesn’t feel the same since it’s not nearly as intense or straining. I feel like I need to somehow get some more exercise in. The trick is to find a way to get it in while still being able to accomplish everything else! Whew. I’m tired just thinking about that.

I probably need to ease up on the candy intake as well. Haha
“I, the Lord, have ordained for the use of man with thanksgiving; nevertheless they are to be used sparingly…” (D&C 89:12)

Dang, I just found this pic of me my buddy Brandon – definitely fitter times! hahah


? Answer the list of questions I asked above πŸ™‚

Actions

Information

14 responses

23 03 2011
this blog author/duck

I exercise (ride a bike and walk) 6-7 days every week. I like to exercise as soon as I get home from work- it peps me up for the rest of the evening. On weekends, I like to do it whenever I can.

(I had a total knee replacement a year ago and find that if I do not exercise it- ride my bike- every day, then I get too stiff. So, having the TKR has been a blessing in disguise.) I also like to walk 30 minutes a day, when possible.

I am going to try and pick up a rowing machine so that I can work on toning the arms, stomach, and other necessary muscles. πŸ™‚ (They are all necessary, aren’t they, even the ones we did not know we had until we feel the PAIN! LOL)

Happy day. πŸ™‚

24 03 2011
kylekealohaaldous

Haha – I totally know what you mean about finding out about the muscles you didn’t even realize you have! haha I get that feeling after dancing! I feel like I could use a TWR (total wrist replacement)!

24 03 2011
Roxanne

The easiest way for Bryan and I to exercise was making a date out of it… In Provo it’s easy to do ride your bikes to dinner, go jogging together, hike the canyon, the list seems endless once you put your mind to it. The biggest trick is just get out and go do something. To often couples find excuses not to get out and be more active. When Bryan and I moved to Park City one of the high schools would let you use their facility including an Olympic pool for 30 dollars a couple a month so that was good. The true trick is finding something you both enjoy and doing it together that way you don’t take more time away from each other then needed and you have a little extra motivation and push to do something.

24 03 2011
kylekealohaaldous

So true, I feel like once it warms up a little more it will be much easier to want to go outside and do active things! Winter usually drives me indoors! I didn’t even go snowboarding this season! 😦

24 03 2011
Roxanne

Serious you are in Utah and didn’t snowboard ugh! I’m extremely disappointed that you joined the masses that don’t take advantage of some of the greatest snow in your own backyard. East coast has nothing on the Utah snow it’s not to late to go! You should give rock climbing a try… I think there are a few indoor places in Provo.

24 03 2011
Brandon Ethington

Amen, to Roxanne…
of course them you have kids and you have to rethink your plans all over again, Good Luck, We are still trying to figure this one out and it has been almost 7 years

24 03 2011
kylekealohaaldous

Haha- yeah i feel like I have no room to be complaining, we don’t have kids! I can’t even imagine right now how you balance a schedule with a kid! Geez. haha

24 03 2011
Brandon Ethington

one kid is a bit easier, it is two or more that will really put you in the ringer. I think that is why people run at like 5am

24 03 2011
Angela stone

I was thinking along with Brandon…it was not too hard to exercise after we got married but kids changed it all. I’m beyond pummped. Jan and half of feb I was at the gym 4+ days a week. Then three weeks off b/c of illness. We get to go back today. With the foster kids schedule my plan has been to go 3 days a week. I go in mean mommy and come out 1.5 hrs later as nice mommy. It is great and I feel better/stronger/smaller too. At minimum we could bike together or go for walks. We could also keep the junk out of the house for each other.

24 03 2011
kylekealohaaldous

Wow! I am inspired. You’ve got a houseful and you’re making it to the gym 3x week! That’s awesome!!!! Supermom!!

24 03 2011
Kailynn

6 days a week at 6-7 am (before Addison wakes up) doing P90X. Only week two, but hopefully we’ll stick to it! By 10 pm we are exhausted from the day and when 6am comes we tell ourselves that it’s only going to hurt for a few minutes as we get up. Haha! And I remember that pic….I’m pretty sure I drew those letters on you guys!

24 03 2011
kylekealohaaldous

What the junk?!?!? You guys are doing P90x at 6 in the morning… haha Holy! Ok, that’s pretty legit! I better step it up, you guys are gonna show up this summer and toned and ready to hit the pool!

24 03 2011
Holly

My new favorite exercise it Kinect haha! Our work gave us pedometers and the more steps you get the more points you get which leads to cash (always a great motivator.) So I started using my Kinect to workout. It make is more interesting than going for a run.

24 03 2011
kylekealohaaldous

Ok, that’s probably the coolest thing I’ve ever heard… Your work pays you to exercise?!?! That’s awesome!

Leave a Reply

