one step ahead.

20 03 2011

Today was my first day with the Teachers quorum.
The teaching assignment rotates through the quorum, but the kid that supposed to teach this week wasn’t there.

The advisor (not me, I’m the assistant) took over and just went through the manual.

Teachers (14-15 year old guys) are NOT the most mature. In fact they might be the most immature. Deacons are just excited to be out of primary and are soaking up the new experience. Priests are older and looking towards college and missions. Teachers are right in the middle and just act however they want.

But it would be a mistake to confuse immaturity with a lack of knowledge.

I watched a class today make a game out of predicting the next question to come from the manual – both correctly predicting questions and then providing answers. The youth (no matter what level of maturity) are intelligent. We talk about chosen generations and the youth being more valiant than ever. I believe it.

I have never been a big fan of giving lessons from the manual (not that there’s anything wrong with it). But each class is different. Each group of individuals might need to be presented the same material in VERY different ways. I think the manual obviously has great content, pure doctrine.
“I must speak concerning the doctrine of Christ; wherefore, I shall speak unto you plainly, according to the plainness of my prophesying…” (2 Nephi 31:2)
However, that’s about all I use it for.
I like tailoring the questions/discussion to the needs of the group.

I think there was a time when asking the usual Sunday School questions and getting the usual Sunday School answers was good.
But I don’t think that’s what the youth need now.
I think they need the doctrine (provided by the manual) presented in a stimulating discussion. They need to know the “why” and the “how”. It’s not enough to just know that we need to pray.

I could use the following words to answer almost any question correctly:
Faith. Repentance. Baptism. Go to church. Repent. Jesus Christ. Atonement.

But without understanding WHY we do some of these things and how to truly make them active principles in my life, the answers are just regurgitated words.

I am SO excited to have the opportunity to work with these guys (SUPER overwhelmed as well). They seem light years ahead of me when I was a teacher (which really wasn’t that long ago – ok maybe it was).

Hopefully I can help contribute something positive to the quorum….

? What are your thoughts about the youth in the Church?

Actions

Information

3 responses

21 03 2011
Melanie

they are WAY more knowledgeable about the gospel than you or I were at the same age and they need to be challenged as such

21 03 2011
Karen Peterson

I’ve seen some really awful lessons taught to the youth because people really just don’t know how to teach. I wish my ward would offer the Teaching the Gospel class because there are a lot of people that really could benefit from it.

21 03 2011
kylekealohaaldous

I totally agree- I taught that class for awhile and I think the stuff inside the training class can be quite helpful for teaching people how to really develop an interactive teaching style.

Leave a Reply

