what you see is not always what you get.

14 03 2011

Last week I heard a story about a woman who works in the corporate office.

She was once an avid skier.
She was once a Nordstrom model.

Then there was an accident. I don’t know the exact details, but in the accident, something was anatomically disrupted and she gained weight. Weight that is not easily lost.

I never would have guessed her former life was so different form her current. She is such a sweet lady.

On Sunday we had a wonderful lesson taught by one of the Elder’s about the Word of Wisdom. He ended the lesson recounting some mean things he had heard people say under their breath about his weight. He has a medical condition that makes weight loss a difficult task. He talked about some of the things he used to do as a young man.

I began thinking about what my life would be like if I experienced a physical change that prevented me from participating in some of the activities I used to participate in. I also thought about what it would be like to have people say negative things about a physical attribute that I had no control over.

Now I remember.
My skin has always had a variety of problems.
I had severe acne for in high school, into college and then into my mission.
I hated it.

I used to tease one of my sisters about her acne. (to this day one of the biggest regrets I have)

I was reminded this weekend that an individuals appearance is nothing to scoff at. You and I have NO idea the circumstances that have made them who they are.

And appearance?
It means nothing.
I’m going to make an even more concerted effort to look past the physical features to find the good on the inside.

“When a man shall have in the skin of his flesh a rising, a scab, or bright spot, and it be in the skin of his flesh like the plague of leprosy…” (Leviticus 13:2)

? Have you ever been teased over something you couldn’t control?

Actions

Information

2 responses

15 03 2011
Kailynn

Don’t feel too bad. I do have terrible skin! Still working on it though, but luckily no one says anything about it to me anymore…haha!

15 03 2011
kylekealohaaldous

haha – well that’s good! I’m still working on my skin as well! Leah wants me to go see a dermatologist…. eh, maybe.

Leave a Reply

