happy 1 year anniversary.

6 03 2011

1 year ago I sat at home (my parents home) trying to figure out what to do with my life.

I was clueless.
I was a college graduate with no job and an increasing load of debt.

Luckily, I was asked to teach early morning seminary as well as the Gospel Principles class. I began to remember how much I loved studying the Gospel as a missionary.

I remember how good I felt and how my life seemed to have more focus and purpose as I studied harder.

I had lost that.

There are many of us who can do great in the short run.
I can do the spiritual sprint with the best of them.
Hometeaching for a few months.
Reading the scriptures daily for a few months.
Paying attention in church for a few months.
Saying my prayers nightly for a few months.

The trick is to learn to balance your life so that you can become a spiritual marathon runner.

Our time here is not a sprint.
It’s a marathon and we need to treat it as such.
“I know by this that unless a man shall endure to the end, in following the example of the Son of the living God, he cannot be saved.” (2 Nephi 31:16)

As I thought about how far I had drifted from the individual I had become as a missionary I quickly became frustrated and decided it was time for a change.

One year ago I set a goal to liken the my life to the scriptures each day.
I started a blog and began writing.

I didn’t accomplish my goal.
Out of 365 days, I have only written 340 posts.
25 days off from accomplishing my goal.

But this experience has been a HUGE blessing in my life.
Sometimes the relationship between an activity of the day and the scriptures was a stretch, but it still helped me to at least look for a connection.

I’ve decided to try again this year.
I’ve got 365 days ahead of me to try and find connections between my life and the scriptures.

I would love to hear how you liken the scriptures to your life or stories you have along the way. I sincerely appreciate the comments and feedback I have received this past year. I am always open to criticism and welcome the opportunity to be better, so let the comments keep coming!

This past year was filled with changes and growth.
I’m excited to see even bigger changes and more growth this coming year!

? How can I make this blog better?

Actions

Information

2 responses

7 03 2011
Roxanne

I applaud your efforts Kyle. And have enjoyed checking in to see the creative way you put everything together. It is such an amazing accomplishment to have liken yourself to the scriptures and watch you grow into a stronger testimony. If you read your first few post and your last few you will see how much you have grown. You have always been such a great example thank you and keep up the good work!

7 03 2011
kylekealohaaldous

Thank-you so much Roxanne!! I really appreciate the kind words!! I hope you and your family are doing well!

Leave a Reply

