a little perspective.

5 03 2011

I’ve spent most of the week thinking about the following things:
iPad2 (2011 will be another year of the tablets).
Brandon Davies scandal.
Work.
March Madness.
Reading.
My exhibition battle coming up in April.
Golfing.
Making more money.

Everything was put into perspective today as I sat in the sealing room with a lot of my immediate and extended family as we watched my sister, Kourtney, get married.

Have you ever been so caught up in life that somehow the important things seem to just slip by unnoticed?

I like to be busy.
I like to fill my life with goals and work.

Today I had one of those little spiritual nudges that gently helped me do a quick realignment of what is most important.

I was reminded that the covenants made in the temple are more important than anything.

If I will just do the best I can to live up to the promises I have made, I will have the opportunity to be with my wife forever.

That beats golf, basketball, money an anything else I can think of.

My favorite gospel principle to teach was the eternal possibility of the family unit.

I love each of the people that were in the sealing room today (and the ones waiting for us on the outside).

It’s going to be wonderful to be able to share eternal friendships with them.
“And, if you keep my commandments and endure to the end you shall have eternal life, which gift is the greatest of all the gifts of God…” (D&C 14:7)

? How do you keep things in the right perspective?

Actions

Information

2 responses

6 03 2011
Vivian

What a sweet post! Every day we wake up and right there we decide WHO will we follow…that day! We need to be reminded of the important things in life not every so often but every day, every waking hours, otherwise, it’s so easy to slip and forget!

6 03 2011
kylekealohaaldous

What a great comment! I know I definitely understand the need to be reminded of what is most important as often as possible!
Deciding who you will follow at the start of the day is such a great way to align yourself for the day before the craziness of life takes over!

Leave a Reply

