it’s my party and i’ll cry if i want to.

4 03 2011

I’m in a beautiful house on the outskirts of Zion National Park.
Why?

My sister, Kourtney, is getting married in St. George this weekend.
Kournety manages the Zion Ponderosa Ranch – which thankfully allowed us to have access to some of the cabins here on the ranch.

Weddings are SO much more than a bride and groom getting married.

A bride and groom are basically party hosts trying to make sure their guests are happy.

You are planning the ultimate party.
Your guests are your friends, family and then those random people who seem to somehow get involved.

That is A LOT of pressure.

And the pressure gets to everyone at some point.

Oh the tears….

There are different levels of crying.
The tear up: This is usually what happens to me when I watch a touching movie.
The gentle trickle: This happens when a couple tears escape the eyes after a good tear up.
The soft sob: A steady flow of tears with some muffled sniffling.
The steady sob: Steady tears with no attempt to silence the sniffling.
The ugly cry: Gushing tears, lots of loud strange noises, a runny nose. Basically this occurs when crap hits the fan and you lose all inhibitions.

Weddings have a way of bringing out the ugly cry.

It is the most interesting dynamic.
There might be lots of varying levels of crying along the way – BUT when the day arrives, it’s as if none of that even happened and everyone laughs and has a great time.

Man.
Being out here for my sisters wedding reminds me of the emotional rollercoaster that a wedding takes you on.

You think it’s all over once you’re married.
But so far it seems like that little rollercoaster was the first of many.
And that marriage day filled with bliss and happiness is also just the first of many.

But in all the chaos of preparing and enjoying a wedding, it’s great to remember the real reason for all of the stress…

“And in order to obtain the highest, a man must enter into this border of the priesthood meaning the new and everlasting covenant of marriage.” (D&C 131:2)

? Was your wedding planning stressful or easy?

Actions

Information

2 responses

4 03 2011
Anthony Ambriz

I actually don’t like weddings. I liked mine of course, but I always saw it and still see it has a way for the parents to celebrate. I don’t see it as part of the bride and groom. But that’s just me.

Going to my third year of marriage and I feel like my wife and I are still playing in the ball pit. We haven’t reached a real rollercoaster just yet. I think that might come when the little one is in high school ha ha.

9 03 2011
kourtney aldous

Bahahahaa ok I love this post.. why? Because that night I FINALLY had my ugly pre-marital cry! Hah that is awesome. I love you, thanks for being there 🙂

Leave a Reply

