in quiet waters.

13 02 2011

The quote for the week on top of my goal book is this:

Only in quiet waters do things mirror themselves undistorted. Only in a quiet mind is adequate perception of the world.” (Hans Margolius)


So fitting for the chaotic week it’s just been.

Sickness.
Eye sickness.
Car sickness.
Competitions.

I feel better today and at church I had a chance to finally sit down and think about this past week without the distractions.

I love taking time each week to really think about how things went and then plan for the coming week.

This little planning time is my chance for a “quiet mind”.
I like quiet time.

I appreciate the quiet moments much more than I used to.
I remember feeling like I needed to fill every moment with something. (confession: I still get that feeling pretty regularly)
BUT -quiet time is important.
Quiet meditation can lead to important personal revelation.

“Yea, behold, I will tell you in your mind and in your heart, by the Holy Ghost, which shall come upon you and which shall dwell in your heart.” (D&C 8:2)

Enjoy the quiet moments.

? How often do you get quiet moments?

Actions

Information

4 responses

16 02 2011
Angela stone

With six kids in the house and all of us being sick quiet moments are far and few between. But keeping the radio off in the car and shows/movies off at home make a big difference. Sucking in the quiet and piece and sometimes using it to pray improves my day. You know I LOVE tv but I think I’m in a season where it just doesn’t work. I tried to watch a few shows and it was hard to finish them with interruptions and when the kids go to bed I usually do too (unlike tonight where I’m doing a good scrub before the babies next feeding). So I’m turning to conference talks or mormon messages when I need to listen to something.

Bottom line, remove distractions. enjoy quiet and don’t fill your life with “noise”

19 02 2011
kylekealohaaldous

That’s some of the best advice… It’s hard to remove the distractions because sometimes we think we need them. BUT we really don’t need them…

16 02 2011
ashley

it’s actually kinda funny you write about this because i went to the temple this evening and i was writing in my journal there about how i LOVE how quiet my mind gets in there. it’s not constantly jumping from one topic to another. whatever cobwebs fill my brain are gone! my favorite part of going to the temple:) best thoughts ever!

19 02 2011
kylekealohaaldous

Yeah I agree – the temple is the perfect place to go for some peace. I will go with a million things on my mind and when I’m there I can feel the excess just leaving. It’s nice…

Leave a Reply

