voice lessons day one.

28 01 2011

I had my first voice lesson today with Johnny Ahn.
He’s got a killer voice and today was step one towards my own personal set of powerful pipes!

It would be nice to be able to sing comfortably without dropping my volume so low it cannot be heard.

“my tongue shall sing aloud of thy righteousness.” (Psalms 51:14)

We did a bunch of drills, scale type things (very reminiscent of my days on the french horn)

Most of us try to establish comfort zones and then keep our lives within them so that we are surrounded by familiarity.

Subjecting another human being to my voice for an hour is WAY outside my comfort zone.
I was sweating. Alot.
But it felt great. (in a weird kind of way)

After all the drills, he let me try to sing a song. (try)
I chose “What Goes Around Comes Around” (Justin Timberlake)

A touch beyond my current range of notes.
SO, Johnny suggested I choose a Frank Sinatra or Michael Buble song.
Done and Done.

“The Way You Look Tonight” by Michael Buble.
Here’s how it should sound…

? How did you liken the scriptures to your life today?

Actions

Information

2 responses

1 02 2011
Margo Scott

I just randomly was glancing at my friends’ blogs today, and I think this is my favorite post so far… you picked “What Goes Around”?!?!? hahahahah I was just telling my roommate about our JT concert experience the other day. I’m glad you haven’t left him in the dust! So hot… still. Good job on the voice lessons! haha

1 02 2011
kylekealohaaldous

hahaha, Margo, I think we both know I will never leave JT in the dust! I’m just waiting for him to come out with a new album now!!!!

Leave a Reply

