i’m too old for this…. stuff.

26 01 2011

Practice at BYU last night was good, bad and ugly.

The good: I think I’ve figured out the sets I want to use in the Finals coming up.
The bad: A quick glance around the room showed a half dozen YOUNGER guys better than me.
The ugly: I’ve got some gnarly bruises from last night’s training.

Have you seen any of the Lethal Weapon movies?
Detective Roger Murtaugh is known for this great catch-phrase:
“i’m too old for this stuff…” (I may have done some creative censoring to keep things PG)

His partner, Riggs (Mel Gibson), is one of those adventurous young bucks looking to shoot first and ask questions later.
Tons of energy.
Nothing can keep him down.

Last night at practice I turned to Josh (close to my age) and said “I’m too old for this.”

I’m not actually too old for this.
Neither is he.
But sometimes my body seems to tell me otherwise.

Things change as you get old.
“After I am waxed old shall I have pleasure…” (Genesis 18:12)

There is an entire episode of “How I Met Your Mother” dedicated to Detective Murtaugh. The main character, Ted, writes a Murtaugh List.
It’s a list of things he was too old for.

Have you ever sat down and thought about things you might be too old for?

Let’s see…
All nighters?
Spur of the moment roadtrips?
breakdancing?

Nah.
I’m not old enough for a list.

What would you put on your Murtaugh list?

?How have you likened the scriptures to your life today?

Actions

Information

2 responses

27 01 2011
Holly

Jonny and I drove to CA at 6 pm on a Friday and were back in Utah by 11pm Sunday. It was a 10 hour drive. I decided I am too old for that now. Getting in at 5, going to a wedding spending time with family. I decided I’m too old for those roadtrips.

29 01 2011
kylekealohaaldous

oh man I totally agree! long road trips are a bit beyond the current age and my need for sleep!

Leave a Reply

