commander’s intent.

17 01 2011

I started a new book today, Made To Stick. (btw, I finally finished reading The Hobbit this weekend)

Made to Stick is about what makes some ideas stick around while others come and go.
So far, I love it.
These kinds of business books are right up my alley.

I was introduced to the phrase, “no plan survives contact with the enemy.
Oooh, I love finding new mottos to live by.

No matter how much planning you do, everything will change as soon as you confront the enemy because you can NEVER know exactly what your opponent will do.

The army operates under this assumption and as a result developed a concept called Commander’s Intent (CI).

“CI is a crisp, plain talk statement that appears at the top of every order, specifying the plan’s goal, the end state of an operation.” (Made to Stick, pg. 26)

This is exactly what we need (and have been given) for our lives in general.
You and I have had very different experiences.
I lived overseas. You might be born and raised USA.
I studied Public Relations. You might be a Math wizard.
I sometimes stray off the path. You might be on the verge of being translated.

We are different and face different experiences. Our best laid plans will be squashed daily by life. We can’t plan for every scenario.

BUT – our CI would read something like this:
“Return to live in the presence of God”.

With our Commander’s Intent in place we are ready for whatever life might throw our way.

Nephi and his brethren had all kinds of plans made to get the plates back. But, I doubt Nephi ever imagined he would be chopping someone’s head off.

“Therefore I did obey the voice of the Spirit, and took Laban by the hair of the head, and I smote off his head with his own sword.” (1 Nephi 4:18)

? How did you liken the scriptures to your life today?

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

