the life of the party.

15 01 2011

Times have changed.
I went to a party/bboy battle tonight in Provo.
Things like this used to be our scene. The whole crew would roll out – we would dance, entertain and be the life of the party. We would show off and then search for girls to bring back to the house with us…

Tonight?
Well, it’s the first party I’ve been to in awhile. It seems like the last party I went to was before I was married.

And the scene?
Well, things are a little different now. As always it was fun catching up and hanging out with some of the guys. But the dancing is done because I love it. And my interest in meeting anyone new is minimal, very minimal.

I took a couple moments and thought about all of the parties I went to with the guys over the years.
All of the girls and and all of the good times.

Great memories – I will never forget them. They have played an important role in making me who I am right now.
But they are only memories.

I’m grateful for what I have right now.
I’m grateful to have someone I am sealed to forever.
It’s nice to know who I’m going home to at the end of the night.

I’m grateful for the memories and I’m grateful for what I have right now and excited for the things to come!

“When I was a child, I spake as a child, I understood as a child, I thought as a child: but when I became a man, I put away childish things.” (1 Corinthians 13:11)

Ok, so I’m not sure how many childish things I’ve actually put away, but it’s the most common scriptures used to describe the process of growing up.

Maybe one of these days I’ll actually put away some childish things!

? What childish things did you put away when you “grew up”?

Actions

Information

2 responses

19 01 2011
cbass21

Man so true, except I’m still so lonely (lol)! It’s weird going to different parties and the crowd is not like it used to be! It used to be how many girls can we pickup or how many girls can Tyson scare off…lol jk, but now I go solely to dance and if I meet a good girl – awesome! It’s weird to be at that point of our lives, because those were the days that defined who we are! Good times for yellow people!

20 01 2011
bkrogel

Don’t worry cbass we can be lonely together! haha It’s crazy how quickly things change. Just last year everyone was hanging out, and now we are spread all over the world. As a side note I’ve always hated the phrase “grow-up”. It has always symbolized conformity and boredom to me.

Leave a Reply

