the law of sacrifice.

14 01 2011

I am teaching Elder’s Quorum this Sunday.
Last week was Ward Conference so I was asked to double up lesson topics this week; sacrifice & fasting.

They connect well, so it should be easy.

I started preparing tonight (we have church at 9 am, so I can’t really prepare before church) and I came across this story:

“Brother Truman G. Madsen tells about a visit he made to Israel with President Hugh B. Brown, an Apostle of the Lord who served as both Second and First Counselor in the First Presidency. In a valley known as Hebron, where tradition has it that the tomb of Father Abraham is located, Brother Madsen asked President Brown, “What are the blessings of Abraham, Isaac, and Jacob?” After a short moment of thought, President Brown answered, “Posterity.”

Brother Madsen writes: “I almost burst out, ‘Why, then, was Abraham commanded to go to Mount Moriah and offer his only hope of posterity?’

“It was clear that [President Brown], nearly ninety, had thought and prayed and wept over that question before. He finally said, ‘Abraham needed to learn something about Abraham’” (The Highest in Us [1978], 49).”

Sometimes Heavenly Father asks us to do things because there is something specific we need to learn about ourselves.

There are countless reasons and benefits to serving a mission.
For me?
It was the only way I could learn some very important things about myself.

Personal sacrifice often leads to personal revelation – the type of revelation that can only be received by you.

“every whit, pointing to that great and last sacrifice; and that great and last sacrifice will be the Son of God…” (Alma 34:14)

? What have you learned from sacrifice?

Actions

Information

3 responses

15 01 2011
Brandon

One of my favorite lessons, Abraham that is. Joseph Smith taught that we must all be tried as Abraham was, that is something that will test us to our core. I often wonder what that is for me.

15 01 2011
Angela

I’ve come to accept that this life really is a test. It is hard and at time it is beyond frustrating. But it is worth it and the blessings that come at the end, and through the middle, and even at the beginning are wonderful.

Its funny we’ve had a rough two weeks since Tyler broke his arm, his world has fallen apart (much more so than when he broke his leg at 3), and he’s really depressed. I’m working really hard at not yelling or even using a mean voice so that I can say “have I yelled at you, am I using a mean voice, are you? Could you stop?” It has helped me look inward more and be more calm. There are times when golly I’m stressed to the max and want a break (beyond what I get going to the gym) and think how nice it would be to put them in preschool/public school. But then I think back to when I was really sick and we put them in school to give me a break – wouldn’t you know it didn’t really help do much but pass the time. It didn’t make me more calm or that much less stressed b/c the kids would come home wound up and wanting non stop mom. ANd while certainly there is a place and time in our life when our kids have and may again go to school, it isn’t now.

So I guess what I’m saying is that from my illness (sacrifice) I’ve realized even more the importance of family, and finding joy within, most importantly drawing together when there is stress and hardship.

15 01 2011
kylekealohaaldous

Poor kid, broken leg and now broken arm 😦
That’s so interesting that sending the kids off to school didn’t change things too much… Great personal lesson learned! Thanks for sharing that!

Leave a Reply

