mechanic. electrician. carpenter.

13 01 2011

I recently designed a candy sign for the store…
It has a list of candy that we carry organized according to the decade it was created.

Designing the sign? Easy.
The hard part? Hanging the sign.

My cousin Ty asked me to hang the sign.
Ugh.

I got it hung.
I can piece things together – but I’m no good with making that kind of stuff look professional.

I wish I was.

Speaking of becoming good at “hands on” skills – my cousin Ty signed up for a beginners automotive class this morning.

GREAT idea!
I can tell you how create a social media campaign BUT I can’t change the oil in my car.

Ty and I started talking about all of the things it would be helpful to know.
Changing the oil.
Plumbing.
Carpentry.
Etc. etc.

There was a really long list…
Neither of us have seen any kind of general home maintenance classes.
That’s a real shame.

We need those classes.
I need those classes!

“he sent Shaphan the son of Azaliah, and Maaseiah the governor of the city, and Joah the son of Joahaz the recorder, to repair the house of the Lord his God.” (2 Chronicles 34:8)

? What’s the best piece of home maintenance knowledge you have?

Actions

Information

One response

14 01 2011
Angela

use it up fix it up make it do or do without… Its old but true. Its so hard to prioritize what to do next. Especially as we are trying to be successful with saving. Its so strange to have money flowing through and actually being “able” to fix things but then having to figure out priorities.

Otherwise realizing cleaning a furnace filter gets it working again, rather than having to call a repair guy or how to fix screens on windows so you can keep them open instead of running the a/c are big ones.

Anna and I married guys who can fix just about anything….Christina…not so much. He can make beautiful and amazing things but can’t fix stuff. They’ve already decided never to buy a house since it would be a repair man money pit. 🙂

Great idea taking classes!

Leave a Reply

