and then I hit the wall.

27 12 2010

All of you avid runners will appreciate the following comparison.
Marathon runners often talk about hitting “the wall“.

The wall is that point in the race (a little different for every runner) where your body and mind almost shut down. In fact many runners claim that this is no metaphorical wall, but instead a very real and quite painful literal wall. A wall that often spells doom for the runner with miles left to go.

I hit the wall last week. (a blogging wall)
I was so overwhelmed with everything going on at work/home/dance/church that I basically shut down.

I basically looked at the computer one night and said, I don’t want to touch you.
I’m burnt out.
I’m spent.
Stick a fork in me, I’m done.

After a little r&r here at the homestead for Christmas, I’m feeling much better.
In fact I’m overflowing with things I want to write about.

But I won’t make the classic runners error and push the pace too fast, too soon.

2011 is around the corner. No doubt you’ve already begun laying out goals for the coming year.

? HOW are you going to avoid the wall and make sure you accomplish what you set out to do?

*On a sidenote, I’m a ridiculously proud uncle. I cannot put the baby down. Originally I thought that because she is so young she would be no fun to play with. WRONG! I can’t get enough of this baby!
“little children are whole, for they are not capable of committing sin…” (Moroni 8:8)


Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

