special sacrament.

12 12 2010

We had the special needs youth group from our stake come speak and sing to us today.

The group consists of special needs youth in the area as well as youth from the wards who have been called to serve as counsellors for the group.

There were several youth speakers as well as a combined choir that sang the intermediate and closing numbers.

It was a special sacrament.

It is easy for me to get sidetracked in sacrament and think about other things and let my mind wander.

But I couldn’t take my eyes off of these youth as they sang “I Am A Child of God“.
I’m not sure how many of them fully understand the meaning of the song from a doctrinal perspective – but you could tell and feel that they understood the song at a spiritual level we can only hope for.

Physically they were disabled, but spiritually, they were:
“Children in whom was no blemish…” (Daniel 1:4)

I cannot remember the last time I was so moved by a song in church. (maybe never)

It made me think of a girl I used to date who casually said once that she would be devastated if she ever had a disabled child.

I was floored when she said it.
I can’t imagine anyone thinking like that.
*To be fair, she had never known anyone with a disabled child.
I have several cousins with special needs and there parents have been exemplary examples of what unconditional love is.

I don’t fully understand the extra work and unseen effort it takes to raise a child with a disability – but I know that if I have a child with special needs I will try the best I can to follow the examples of my aunts and uncles.

I just can’t get over how amazing sacrament was today…
It was one of those moments when you just knew the Spirit was there.

? What was the last sacrament that kept you spiritually involved?

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

