the hobbit.

6 12 2010

I started reading The Hobbit recently and this time I plan on finishing it.

Dad got me to start reading it when I was in high school, but I never quite finished it (which really means I never really made it past the first couple of chapters)

It’s a classic and I need to read it. I’d like to try and have the book done before the movie comes out. (Yes, there’s a movie… and yes, Peter Jackson will be directing)

My usual reading list is filled with lots of non-fiction books. (ie. Outliers, Freakonomics, Nudge) It’s nice to sit back and lose myself in a world that is completely different.

And there is no better world to lose yourself in than a Tolkein world.
Except perhaps the Book of Mormon – a world that contains a:
“a record of a fallen people…” (D&C 20:9)

Plus the Book of Mormon is real.
Sadly, Gandalf the wizard is not.

My goal this year was to read 20 different books.
This is only book 13.

I’m slacking, I know.
But I know I will at least get in a another 3-4 books before the year ends because I’ve got Christmas Break coming up!
Oh yeah!

I wish there was more time in the day so that I could just lay in bed reading.

? What’s the best book you’ve read this year?

Actions

Information

2 responses

10 12 2010
Clayton C-Bass Esquire

Man good post brotha! I need to read more too!

My book of the year was “Crush It” by Gary Vaynerchuk all about getting yourself branded through social media! The guy is a social network legend!

Art of Non-Conformity is a great one too! Try 4-Hour Work Week if you havent

11 12 2010
kylekealohaaldous

I need to pick up that “Crush It” book…. sounds god!

Leave a Reply

