who are you connected to?

21 11 2010

I gave the lesson in Elder’s Quorum today about the sacrament.

I prepared a lesson (Saturday night) and then of course the lesson went completely different than I imagined.
When this happens I’m usually scared and excited.
Scared of what might happen.
Excited that maybe the Spirit is actually guiding the conversation.

Well, it took me about 10 minutes to work through everything I had.
Then we got to one of my last discussion points.
Reverence in sacrament.
We spent the rest of the time discussing this one seemingly small subject.

The discussion centered on smartphones.
Of course, because everyone loves a good debate and smart phones in church makes for wonderful back and forth.

At one point in time we had a man argue that “bringing a smartphone into church and saying that it’s ok because I have the scriptures on it was no better than bringing a playboy into church that had a scripture case around it.”

Wow.
That’s how the discussion started – and then I basically mediated a firestorm.

One comment stands out form the rest.
One of the men said that smartphones are wonderful for connecting to the world – in fact that is basically the very purpose for having a smartphone.

It allows you to be connected via: text. phone. facebook. twitter. email. blogs. internet. foursquare (I mean I actually checked into church the other week).

But, the man said, who do we come to church to connect with?

Heavenly Father.

We don’t need a smart phone for that.
He said that leaving his phone in the car for 3 hours was a personal way of showing that he was literally willing to disconnect form the world and connect fully to Heavenly Father.

Insightful. I felt like the comment was directed at me for some reason.
Perhaps I was feeling guilty about playing Angry Birds, or Words with Friends.

He’s right though, we go to church to connect with God – not stay connected with a world of distractions.
God doesn’t want us to multi-task Him in for 5 minutes while we take the sacrament between playing games and texting our friends.

“Thou shalt have no other gods before me.” (Exodus 20:3)

But there were others who argued that it’s just a matter of self control. You could bring the phone into church and use the scriptures application as long as you avoided the games, texting and Internet.

? What do you think about smartphones in sacrament?

Actions

Information

One response

22 11 2010
Angela

Yeah the example set by people having cell phones out isn’t a good one. Others will think hey I can do that but really they don’t successfully. I like the man’s comment about showing love for the Lord.

Leave a Reply

