tuesdays with morrie.

7 11 2010

We made the long drive back to Utah today.
It was long enough that I was able to read Tuesday’s with Morrie.

I’m pretty sure this was a Hallmark movie and even though Hallmark has a knack for the emotional – the book will touch you more than the movie.

The book is a true story about a dying professor who taught his last lessons on deaths doorstep to a former student.
Each Tuesday, Mitch flies back East to visit Morrie and to glean from him life changing advice.

It kind of reminds me of King Benjamin teaching the people before he passed away:
“…for I have not commanded you to come up hither to trifle with the words which I shall speak, but that you should hearken unto me, and open your ears that ye may hear, and your hearts that ye may understand, and your minds that the mysteries of God may be unfolded to your view.” (Mosiah 2:9)

One of my favorite moments is this:
“But if aging were so valuable , why do people always say, Oh if I were young again. You never hear people say, I wish I were sixty-five –

Then Morries offers some incredible counsel:

“You know what that reflects? Unsatisfied lives. Unfulfilled lives. Lives that haven’t found meaning. Because if you’ve found meaning in your life you don’t want to go back. You want to go forward.”

I’ve had problems with looking back.
This is exactly what I needed to read – and it came at the exact moment I needed it.
(Thanks for the book Josie)

It’s time to make sure I’m making my life as fulfilling at the moment as possible so I don’t feel the need to look back…

? Do you sometimes wish you could go back to younger years?

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

