2 gays and an asian baby.

21 10 2010

I watched this week’s episode of Modern Family during lunch today and still can’t stop laughing as I think about it.

If you haven’t taken my advice and started watching it, you should!

The gay couple’s side story this week was funny and so telling about our culture.

In case you don’t know, they have an adopted Vietnamese baby girl. This week they were trying to get her into a pre-school. They find out at their first interview that being a gay couple, with an adopted foreign child makes them so diverse that they could apply anywhere and get in.

They get an interview at the Harvard of preschools and are beaming with confidence as they wait for their interview.

And then…

In walks/rolls a handicapped interracial lesbian couple with an adopted African baby.
Trumped.

Hahaha
Diversity!
Cameron then compares there situation to having a losing poker hand.
So true.

The more diverse – the better your odds at getting “whatever”. (I use that term loosely)
Yeah that’s a really really broad generalization. But I can make it, I’m part Hawaiian – and yes, I’ve marked that down on applications plenty of times.

In fact I attribute part of my acceptance into BYU to diversity.
I am a Polynesian who graduated from high school in Singapore.
That looks quite diverse.
Good thing they never saw a picture of me!

So, I’m not complaining about the special treatment – merely commenting that our society places a lot of importance on the appearance of diversity. Perhaps sometimes at the cost allocating the time/resources to someone truly deserving.

Moses was a diverse child.
“This is one of the Hebrews’ children…” (Exodus 2:6)
That worked out pretty well for him… well, kind of.

? Do you think too much emphasis is placed on diversity?

Actions

Information

2 responses

22 10 2010
Anthony Ambriz

It makes me wonder if you knew that you could get a scholarship for being Polynesian….

I get one for being Hispanic!

22 10 2010
Holly

I am now addicted to Modern Family (thanks Kory and Ashley.) Loved this weeks episode I couldn’t stop laughing. Favorite line, “Leave it to the gays to raise the only underachieving asian in America.” The whole interview reminds me of home because that is exactly what would happen in preschools there. haha

Leave a Reply

