called to surf.

13 10 2010

I am now officially hooked on KSL deals.

What is KSL Deals?

Every day I get an email with an offer from some company in the area. Sometimes the deals are ok, sometimes they are for companies or items I don’t really care about – BUTsometimes they are ridiculously amazing deals.

Last week I spent $25 to get $50 worth of vouchers for Pier 49 Pizza.
I love Pier 49 pizza!

I basically picked up a free $25.

There are always a couple deals each week that catch my attention.

I’ve talked about budgeting before – but I really do enjoy getting good deals on my purchases.

“And if thou sell ought unto thy neighbour, or buyest ought of thy neighbour’s hand, ye shall not oppress one another…” (Leviticus 25:14)
Hhmm… Paying full price is practically oppression, right?

Speaking of good deals….

Called to Surf (the surf shop at the Riverwoods) is in an interesting predicament.
They are a surf/skate retail clothing store attempting to break into a very competitive market. There are about 4-5 other stores I can think of that offer the exact same stuff (but at a better price)

How do you get your foot in the door in such a competitive market?
You need to do exactly what the big guys are doing – only better.

The moment you walk into a store like PacSun you will see at least half a dozen signs telling you about various sales and deals the store is running.
The moment you walk into Called to Surf you see a cool VW bus. (no signs – no deals)

So obviously I think that needs to change. (like immediately)

But here is my “going the extra mile” step Called to Surf should look into…
Have you heard of Whiskey Militia?
Every day they have several items that show up on their web site that are ridiculously marked down – usually around 50%-60% off. The catch is that there are limited supplies. First come, first serve.

Called to Surf can employ the same idea. It’s not online so people could have the exact item they want without dealing with shipping. Every day the store would select an item – announce it on Facebook – and if it’s a popular item they are bound to get a good turn-out.

I ran the idea by Jeremy today and he loved it!
He even suggested I look into seeing how our store could run a similar program… (already laying out the plan in my mind)

Hopefully it gets to put into practice – I really think Called to Surf could grab a larger market share with a program like this.

? Would you be more inclined to go to a store if you knew they were running a deal on a specific item at a very discounted rate?

Actions

Information

One response

14 10 2010
Holly

Unrelated to your question but I saw this thing on the news the other day. It is national pizza month and on Oct. 23rd (I think that is the right day) Pier 49 Pizza is giving away a free slice of pizza. You can go on their website and vote for what kind. Thought you might be interested.

Leave a Reply

