monopoly.

12 10 2010

October 5 – November 1 is a very special time.
It is the ONLY time of the year I will go out of my way to go eat at McDonalds!

Why?
It’s Monopoly time!

Everyone in the crew hits up McDonalds as often as possible so that we can collect as many pieces as possible with the hope of getting the elusive pieces necessary to win the $1,000,000 cash prize!

Every year we talk about what we would do with the money.

Retire.
Travel.
Pay off debt.
Retire.
Travel.
Retire.

Can you retire on $1,000,000 at the age of 26?
Hhmm…

Good question.
My personal finance teacher at BYU would answer with a resounding NO.
He believes that if you retire at the age of 60, you need to have $8,000,000 saved up in order to live for another 25 years without working.

The question really depends on what you plan to do with your money.

“And so he that had received five talents came and brought other five talents, saying, Lord, thou deliveredst unto me five talents: behold, I have gained beside them five talents more.” (Matthew 25:20)

To retire, we would have to turn our $1,000,000 into something greater.
But how?

Investing – most likely.
But I guess we’ll cross that bridge when we get there.

For now, I’m going to keep dreaming about what it would be like to have a monopoly stimulus package!

What would I do with the money?
Take a year off. Travel to 50 different countries. Teach breakdance in every country. Photograph and write a book about the entire experience.

? Aside from paying off debt, saving and other practical things, if you had $1,000,000 what would you buy?

Actions

Information

3 responses

13 10 2010
Roxanne

Ha ha good luck in your quest! Last year my father in law tried to help us win by playing all around the world… Needless to say after traveling to s. America, Asia, Europe, and Australia we still didn’t win… I think the winning pieces are sent off to the deepest parts of Africa or antartica where people don’t know what’s going on…

13 10 2010
Kailynn

I’m sure Dallas would say he would buy a golf course if that’s possible! Anyways, we were just talking about how it’s monopoly time and wondering if Leah is okay with the many McDonald trips you plan on taking over the next month!

13 10 2010
Holly

Jonny and I also increase our McDonalds trips during Monopoly. I was so mad I went there the other day just to get Monopoly pieces so I bought a large drink and the drinks don’t have them! And I think I’m with you on the traveling. I would love to travel, I just need money.

Leave a Reply

