good-bye.

11 10 2010

I just said good-bye to one of my closest friends.
We’ve been best friends since high school.

We’ve lived together for years and been through a lot together.

“A friend loveth at all times…” (Proverbs 17:17)

He’s moving to Tennessee tomorrow morning.
I know I’ll see him again someday (but it doesn’t make good-bye any easier)

I’ve never handled good-byes very well.
I think out of my group of friends I’m probably the most emotional (according to them, the most like a girl) but hey, I get attached to people.
I can’t help it.

Good-byes signify change.
Another thing I don’t handle as well as I wish I did.

Good-byes trigger a flood of memories. For a brief moment your mind scrolls through everything you’ve experienced with that person until finally you reach the present and realize you are done making memories with that person for awhile.

That’s about the time my eyes get a little watery.
Me?
Cry?

Yeah.
Maybe I am emotional.

I don’t care.
I can shed as many tears as I want.

And when I’m done with that – I’ll be just fine.
There are other memories to be made…

We weren’t sent down here to dwell on the past…

Not when there is so much to look forward to.

? How do you handle good-byes?

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

