permission slip.

7 10 2010

Remember when you were a kid and you had to have your parents sign a permission slip so that you could go do something fun?

As a kid you pretty much have to ask for permission to do anything…

Can I go to my friends?
Can I drink a soda?
Can I go play outside?
Can I have a piece of candy?
Can I have this cool toy?

I have come to the conclusion that marriage is like being transported to your childhood.

Permission must be granted before you can go do the fun stuff…

I think I have asked each of these questions at least once since I’ve been married (which has only been 5 weeks now).

I’m currently trying to convince Leah that I need a jacket and a coat.
The jacket will cover me through Fall and the coat is for when the Winter really hits!

Much like my childhood, I have begun to bargain for the goods I would like.
I remember asking my parents what I needed to do in order to qualify myself for a certain treat or toy.

Many years later, I am right back here bargaining again (good thing I got a lot of practice as a kid)

Think about how many times you have gone to Heavenly Father in prayer trying to get a spiritual permission slip signed…

Sometimes we probably go to Him with things we don’t actually need and maybe sometimes things that are outright wrong for us to have.
But we beg…
And we plead…
And we bargain…

And sometimes He says….
Yes.

Joseph Smith asked, asked again and asked again to let Martin Harris take the translated section of the plates. The Lord said, no, no and finally agreed.

Harris lost them.
Joseph was rebuked:

“For, behold, you should not have feared man more than God. Although men set at naught the counsels of God, and despise his words—
Yet you should have been faithful; and he would have extended his arm and supported you against all the fiery darts of the adversary; and he would have been with you in every time of trouble.” (D&C 3:7-8)

In his case – getting the spiritual permission slip signed was not such a good thing…

In my case, getting a jacket and coat – definitely a good thing!

? Do you ask for permission to do or have certain things?

Actions

Information

2 responses

7 10 2010
Anthony Ambriz

To go do stuff I don’t ask permission I’m a grown man! And the wifey respects that. I do inform her where I’m going though so that it doesn’t conflict with any plans she has going on or may come up.

To get stuff I want is another story. Luckily I secretly have always wanted to be a lawyer or con artist so shows like Law & Order and White Collar have helped me with my negotiating skills. Don’t get me wrong I don’t always win. Because I do let her have the final say.

What’s funny is that Bekah doesn’t ask for much and when I hear that she has been wanting to get something but never asked for it. I get a little upset because I’m thinking, you could have asked for that ages ago and I would have ran to the store and bought it for you…. She’s funny like that.

TIP: Always state your Pros and Cons. Also where you’ll make up that money you’re going to be spending. ha ha

7 10 2010
Angela

Before we got married we set up a dollar amount that we could spend up to without consulting the other. Anything over that had to be discussed. Early on it was $20, then $40. Now its probably still under $100 just because we budget for everything and something unexpected over say $50 or so would need to be discussed so we could plan for it in the future.

So yeah there is a lot of “consulting” in our house…way better phrase once you’re used to permission asking!

Leave a Reply

