butterfly effect.

2 10 2010

Butterfly Effect: The butterfly effect is a metaphor that encapsulates the concept of sensitive dependence on initial conditions in chaos theory; namely that small differences in the initial condition of a dynamical system may produce large variations in the long term behavior of the system.

Basically – one tiny practically inconsequential event can have dramatic effects on the rest of your life.

Have you ever sat down and thought about where you are at this very moment and where you were ten years ago?
Think of some of the small perhaps random events that happened that led you to the point you are at. Imagine if just one of those had been a little different…

I’m doing that right now.
My iTunes just shuffled a song on called “Allegro Non Troppo“, a movement form Shostakovich’s 5th Symphony.

I have spent this entire song replaying my life down a completely different path.

In case you don’t me, I spent 7 years playing the french horn.
I was probably better at french horn my junior year of high school than I am at breakdancing now.
I practiced hard. (just as hard as I do with my bboying)

We moved the summer before my Senior year of high school and everything changed. The music program wasn’t as good as the program i came from so I got complacent and lazy. I also met a guy who did some breakdancing…

Then everything changed.
Music dropped off my priorities…
Dancing became my life.

If we hadn’t moved I would’ve continued to pursue music when I got to college.
I wouldn’t have been mixed up in the breakdancing/partying.
I would’ve graduated in 4, not 5 years.
etc. etc. etc.

It’s possible I wouldn’t even be doing this blog. (very possible)
Wow.

“And now behold, if it were possible that our first parents could have gone forth and partaken of the tree of life they would have been forever miserable, having no preparatory state; and thus the plan of redemption would have been frustrated, and the word of God would have been void, taking none effect.” (Alma 12:26)

Think about your life right now and the seemingly tiny decisions you make daily…
Those decisions are going to have a big impact on the rest of your life.

? What were some life changing events in your life?

Actions

Information

2 responses

2 10 2010
Anthony Ambriz

If hadn’t been invited to Breakdance Club in the Summer of 05 I wouldn’t be breakdancing. I’d probably be in Club Style. ha ha

But if I didn’t volunteer and get involved in the BYU Community I probably would have never met my wife and taken her away from her missionary!

Service pays off! GO COUGARS!

3 10 2010
kylekealohaaldous

Hahaha! Love it man! Good thing you did breakdance club!

Leave a Reply

