excuses.

1 10 2010

I’ve been teaching breakdancing for about three years now.

I think I’ve heard every excuse out there for why a move can’t be done.

I’m too fat.
I’m a girl.
My wrist hurts.
I forgot shoes.
I’m wearing shorts – but I need pants.
I need a jacket.
I’m too thirsty.
I just ate.
My floor at home is different and I like it better.
I’m too sweaty.
I do it all the time – I just can’t right now.
The music is too soft.
The music is too loud.
etc. etc. etc.

There are TONS more…

I’ve started paying close attention to every time I hear an excuse to justify the words, “I can’t…”

I hate hearing those words.
If you can only breakdance on carpet, every 2nd Tuesday of the month, wearing your lucky underwear, while Run DMC is playing on a stereo (not an iPod) then there are some serious issues we need to resolve.

Everyone makes excuses.
It’s a daily occurrence.

I can’t go clean my car right now because I’m writing this post.

So, instead of just making up some lame excuse how about we call things as they are.
I value writing this post more than I value cleaning my car.
I value the competition tomorrow night more than I value painting our book shelf (sorry sweetie).
I value going to the temple with Leah tonight more than the incredibly amazing workshop going on tonight. (you’re welcome sweetie)

Nephi is the man – let’s take a page out of his book:
“Nevertheless, I do not write anything upon plates save it be that I think it be sacred. And now, if I do err, even did they err of old; not that I would excuse myself because of other men, but because of the weakness which is in me, according to the flesh, I would excuse myself.” (1 Nephi 19:6)

He says he can’t because he’s weak.
Done.

Although – as I’m writing this post I’m wondering if I would like hearing from my kids that they just don’t want to practice and don’t value breakdancing very much.
Hhhmm..

Yeah – forget what I just said.

I’d rather hear that your dog ate your breakdance sweats and you can’t breakdance in anything else.

? What’s the best excuse you’ve ever used or heard?

Actions

Information

3 responses

2 10 2010
Anthony Ambriz

I sometimes feel that excuses are really lies.

When I honestly ponder over my excuses I realize that I’m lying to myself or others.

If we’re children of a Supreme Being what excuses do we have?

3 10 2010
Angela

Amen!

4 10 2010
Sarah Lewis

Why I can’t dance? Because I dance like a white girl. It’s no excuse, just fact!

Leave a Reply

