prick of the needle.

27 09 2010

I had a blood sample taken during my lunch break today.
Ugh.


I don’t do needles.
Say whatever you want about my manliness – but I just do not do needles.

I’ve never been a big fan of needles (I don’t know anyone who is) but I used to be able to tolerate them. I would donate blood (BYU seems to have blood drives every week) and I even was a regular plasma donor. (a nice supplement to my college budget)

However, the last time I donated plasma (or anything for that matter) was three years ago.

I went in to BioMedics (per usual) and laid down while the nurse (or whatever they’re called) jabbed me several times to find the vein. (also per usual)

Well, this time it took more than the standard 2-3 jabs to find the vein. My pin cushion arm had at least 6 holes in it before the lady said she got it.
Too bad she didn’t.
Then the blood clotted.
Then she pulled the needle out.

I’m not sure what happened – I just remember seeing a string of blood hanging from the needle.

Uuumm… yum.

Then she asked if she could try again on the other arm.
I politely passed, rolled myself off the chair left. (never to return)

I know, I know – not the worst story ever, but still…

Now, I hate needles and the people who put them in me.

But I can only imagine the medical crap our ancient counterparts had to deal with. I suppose I would gladly take a small needle over some kind of medical knife made from stone.

“I immediately gave orders that my men who had been wounded should be taken from among the dead, and caused that their wounds should be dressed…” (Alma 57:24)

Dressed?
I’m not sure I want to know the meaning of “dressed” for that time.
I imagine it hurt more than being pricked by a needle.

I guess I’ll try and remember that the next time I have blood drawn…

? How do you handle shots or needles?

Actions

Information

2 responses

27 09 2010
Kailynn

I get my blood drawn a lot being pregnant and all I can say is thank goodness for EXCELLENT nurses! This lady has never had to stab me more than once to draw my blood and all I do is look away! Love it!

27 09 2010
Angela

You just do! Last year I was having labs done at the hospital almost weekly (about 3 times a month) plus IVs three times a week for 3 months. That ain’t nothing! I still do blood draws every three months but they don’t really phase me. I have had bad draws though and it is usually experience related so I’m pretty forward about letting them know if I want someone else. I did plasma a lot in college and LOVED it but then had kids and it just wasn’t as feasible!

Reed on the other hand HATES needles. He’d come with me to do labs if I was in bad shape but have to pace the hallway or if we were in the ER tried ignore it there too. Poor guy. He did plasma a few times but hated it! You know that part of princess bride where they have the machine that sucks away years of your life? Well he could feel the blood being sucked out of him and said it felt like that machine! 🙂 Good times. Guess its a good thing I’m the one who does it regularly!

Leave a Reply

