blind.

24 09 2010

I had lunch with Brandon today – typically a very fun-filled event. Today, however, the festivities were laced with some sobering news.

A friend of ours recently went blind.


Brandon was much better friends with him then I was and so it has struck him closer to home than it did me.
But, when you hear about someone who is 26 and recently lost his eyesight – it will make anyone take a second to think things over.

It has stuck with me all day.
Harrison is having a difficult time with the transition (who wouldn’t?)

I half-jokingly told Brandon Harrison just needed a blessing so his eyesight would be restored.

But there was some hopeful truth behind my comment.
Miracles happen today.
It’s a fact.

You must have heard a story, or perhaps you have even been a part of something miraculous.
It’s not uncommon.

So, why not Harrison?
Why can’t hands be placed on his head and sight be restored?

“A man that is called Jesus made clay, and anointed mine eyes, and said unto me, Go to the pool of Siloam, and wash: and I went and washed, and I received sight.” (John 9:11)

That is the beauty and awe-inspiring power of the priesthood.
You can literally give blessings that can bring people back form the dead, right?

Right!
And wrong…

The concept of faith and it’s relationship to the will of God is SO interesting.
If you remember the faith of the brother of Jared was so great that the Lord could not even keep himself hidden from him.

Do you think if someone had that kind of faith today that they could be healed that they would be?

I don’t know.
I’m undecided at the moment.
I’d like to believe it, but maybe my faith isn’t where it needs to be – or maybe my understanding of God’s will is not complete.

I wish I had more faith…

? Have you witnessed or heard of a miraculous event?

Actions

Information

2 responses

26 09 2010
ashley

it’s funny. i had an intestinal infection a couple of months ago and i was in incredible pain. i received a blessing and i thought for sure from there everything would get better. in fact, i HAD to get better since i had finals that week! my pain kept me from sleeping that night and actually reduced me to tears. it was early in the morning but i called my parents for some comfort. they urged me to go to the hospital. money-wise i couldn’t afford it. i cried to my dad “why didn’t the blessing work?” to which he replied “if every blessing worked no one would die.” i thought it was interesting. and definitely true. sometimes we just have to endure the trials because we don’t know what it can possibly do for us.

27 09 2010
kylekealohaaldous

Your dad is a wise man….
Thanks for posting that – I think I needed to be reminded of that myself.

Leave a Reply

