the ring.

15 09 2010

I’ve never really been a ring kind of guy. In fact I’m not much for jewelry in general.
I never wore rings growing up and wasn’t looking forward to permanently attaching one to my hand.

I even told Leah that wearing a wedding ring was not the most appealing idea.

Don’t get me wrong – I love everything the ring stands for.
A symbol of love, covenants, eternity. I want everyone to know I’m married. I’m proud and excited.

“Marriage is honourable in all…” (Hebrews 13:4)

BUT- rings are just uncomfortable.

In fact I was so (anti)ring that it was the only thing I was dreading about the wedding.

Then Leah put the ring on my finger and everything changed…

I LOVE the ring.
I love everything about it.
It turns out I am a ring guy – I just needed the right ring.

Now, I just need to remember to put it back on after I shower.

I feel like wearing a ring means you belong to someone….
AND I’m all for that.
I love walking around with a ring that basically says ‘property of Leah‘.

? What does your wedding ring mean to you?

Actions

Information

3 responses

16 09 2010
Sarah Lewis

My husband hates wearing his ring. Like, HATES it. He wore it wedding day, week after, and then random times after that (mostly when we went to the temple or on our anniversary). He used the excuse, “I’m an electrician, I’ll kill myself.” Okay, maybe that was a legit excuse, but he hasn’t done electrical work in years! We’ve been married 6 years and he’s worn it maybe 8 months (not consecutively) total.

16 09 2010
Charis Aldous

I have always loved wearing a ring (I’m a girl what can I say) but I definitely love the ring I have now. Why? For two reasons. First – it has 6 hearts on it. 3 on one side and 3 on the other. When you dad gave it to me he told me it’s to remind me that his heart is always with me. Second – your grandmother, (my mom) gave me a ring guard that belonged to her mother, (my grandmother) and it just so happens that it fit my ring perfectly. So not only do I carry your dads heart all day long but I also carry a piece of my mom and grandmother. I love what my ring reminds me of every time I look at it.

17 09 2010
Angela

I’m not the best about wearing my rings. We lost ours (thought it was stolen for over a year) so we filed a homeowners claim and got new ones. Later we found mine and we paid the company the salvage value (about 5% of what we received for it) so we were able to keep this amazing ring my grandmother gave my mom who gave it to us but Reed again lost his. I’m sure his second one is somewhere around the house. I’ve found it in the dryer SO MANY TIMES! With health problems and weight fluctuations I haven’t always been able to fit my rings, I think one is a 6.5 and the other is 5.5. I can now get the smaller one on but the larger is more comfortable and I have a four year old who is constantly remind me to put it on. I do feel more girly with it on but I’m always paranoid of losing it.

Leave a Reply

