hybrid.

26 08 2010

We have a new(esque) girl working at the store now.
She’s a recent high school graduate just starting her first year at UVU.

A couple nights ago, we got talking about the “type” of people we were.

Have you ever talked with someone who tried to categorize you?
I’ve stood on both sides of conversation.
I’ve categorized and been categorized.

It all begins with appearance.
Hipsters. Goths. Emo’s. Jocks. “Easy” girls. Academics. Outcasts. Bboys.

They all have a look that is pretty recognizable.

But does the look truly represent the person?
YES!

and no.

“…but the judgments of man are not always just.” (Mosiah 29:12)

I was talking with our new girl and asked her how she categorized herself.
She responded by asking me if she had to fit into just one category?

Great question – and the answer is no. There are definitely the extremes out there who are almost exactly the type of person their image stands for – but I feel like there are alot of HYBRIDS in this world.

You are most likely a hybrid.
I’m a hybrid.

By hybrid, I mean a mutt-like collection of various interests and influences.
This particular girl is her own hybrid version of emo, goth, indie and harijuku.

I’m a mix of business, bboy and Justin Timberlake! (well, at least this is what I like to think)

However, the interesting thing about categories is that the ones you put yourself in are not necessarily the ones that others put you in.

The categories are always changing. The next time you try to categorize someone you should probably stop and find out a little bit about them before throwing them into a very generalized category!

? What are you a hybrid of?

Actions

Information

2 responses

28 08 2010
Brandon

If I had to categorize myself I would have to say that I am some where between Andy Griffith, from the old TV show not in real life, Garth Brooks.

I absolutely love the way that Andy Griffith from the TV show took care of his family and friends and the way he dealt with people. and As for Garth, his personal life has been a mess for years, but his music covers all corners of the world and I have always been able to relate most of his songs to my life.

12 09 2010
April~Living The Sweet Life

I love the idea of the hybrid type. How can any of us fit into just one category. Hybrid renaissance or what ever one would call it, let’s all be interesting. Being just one type is so 1995.

Leave a Reply

