grocery shopping.

20 08 2010

Leah is living in our future apartment right now. She is all moved in and pretty much just organizing stuff now. It’s nice that all of the moving will be done before we even get married. (my stuff will get moved in when she leaves for AZ)

Tonight it was time to fill the fridge and cupboards.

This was our first trip to the grocery store!

Think long and hard about your first grocery store trip with your spouse to buy REAL groceries.

Each of you may have had slightly different grocery experiences in the past.

Leah and I come from different schools of thought.

Kyle: Can, I get Sunchips? It’s like 2-3 meals.
Leah: Sunchips are not a meal.
Kyle: I don’t understand, I’ve had them for dinner before and even lunch, or even at 11:20 pm when I’m trying to go to bed.

Yeah, this conversation ended with me being allowed to get a bag of the mini bags of Sunchips so that Leah could limit my intake.

It was very interesting. I am used to corn dogs, cran-grape juice and sour patch kids. Leah is used to Lean cuisine and Simply Lemonade.

I felt like a lawyer at times trying to win a case. Imagine pleading for justice on behalf of your client; Whole Milk. It’s a difficult case to win. Each item was a new case with new arguments. We each had some victories and defeats.

Overall I feel like we both were able to see a few of our clients be found free to enter the fridge!

I should just be grateful I have a grocery store with all of the options. It used to be that you just went out into the forest, hoped for the best and came back with whatever you could get!

“And it came to pass that I did slay wild beasts, insomuch that I did obtain food for our families.” (1 Nephi 16:31)

? What groceries do you like that your spouse won’t let you get?

Actions

Information

3 responses

20 08 2010
Angela

Ice cream was Reed’s response…

I don’t get to purchase many items with vinegar in them b/c no one else in my house likes them and I don’t use them enough to justify them sitting in the fridge.

That said I have all the power since I do all the menus, shopping and parting out of food. 🙂

21 08 2010
Kailynn

When you do the grocery shopping then you have full right to bring home whatever you want! But none of those gross frozen dinners please!

22 08 2010
Angela

Yep Kailynn was right…if Reed went shopping he could buy ice cream…but he doesn’t because he KNOWS he doesn’t need it!

Speaking of ways we comprimise….We’ve cut out cheese from the family’s diet and I found some fake cheese that had been recommended so we could make pizza. Tonight I made a quesadilla and shared it with him and he quickly decided we’d start looking for yummy cheeseless pizza recipes! Guess that one was a no go.

Leave a Reply

