hiring.

2 08 2010

I had the chance to interview someone today for a job at the store.

Job interviews:
A 5-minute opportunity to sell yourself.

It was interesting to be on the side conducting the interview for a change.

People feel like job experience, education, internships are the most important stuff…

On the resume, sure!
In an interview, not really!

Your resume gets you the interview.

YOU get yourself the job.

You didn’t get the interview so that your resume could be rehashed.
You got the interview so the company could see if you would fit well in their system.

Your personality is the winner.
You have to find a way to connect with the person interviewing you.

Sometimes it’s easy (you share a mutual friend)
Sometimes it’s a little harder (you quickly scanned the office and decided to bond over the spongebob pez dispenser)

I don’t care what you do – you have to connect.

Companies want experience, talent, skill etc. etc… (If you got the interview they must have thought you at least stood out in some context.)
but – what they really want is someone they like.

Congratulations to Joey tonight. It was a fun interview and it turns out we share a mutual friend (he had it easy).

“And Jesus, walking by the sea of Galilee, saw two brethren, Simon called Peter, and Andrew his brother, casting a net into the sea: for they were fishers.” (Matthew 4:18)

I’m trying to imagine Peter and Andrew interviewing to be fisherman.
It’s more comedic than anything else.

When did we start doing job interviews?

Didn’t we used to just do apprenticeships?
I think I would have ended up somewhere in typesetting or scribe work. Not sure…

? What’s your best job interview advice?

Actions

Information

6 responses

3 08 2010
Brandon

Thanks man. I will remember that when I start interviewing.

They say a Degree opens doors, let’s see if I can find the hallway that those doors are in.

3 08 2010
Chelle Ethington

When I started looking for a job my Dad gave me a piece of advice which I have always tried to remembered in every situation I find myself… ‘You never get a second chance to make a first impression.’ So, as cliche as it sounds put your best foot forward, dress for success (and appropriately), and practice makes perfect (find a friend you can trust to give you pointers).

4 08 2010
kylekealohaaldous

I love the “you never get a second chance to make a first impression” advice!

3 08 2010
Anthony Ambriz

I’m looking for a new job right now. So the interviewing process is actually my favorite! I get to talk about my family and my dreams and what not. Though to be honest I hate the Cover Letter that is attached to the resume. I feel like its a cheap interview on paper.

But man I’m surprised there was no announcement made about a position opening at the store you work at? Come PR spread some news. ha ha.

So what position is open? I might need to stop on by.

4 08 2010
Christina (Cottrell) George

I have to say that I do a fair share of interviewing at my job and I’ve never met so many “responsible” “dependable” and “friendly” people… someone that stands out to me is someone who can think of a better word to describe why they want the job, what their best trait is, strengths, etc (the questions change but answers stay the same)… think about what you would want to hear before you go!

Also, when we ask you to tell us about yourself, I don’t care what high school you went to… I just want to know why I would want to be around you for 8 hours a day!

My advice: make yourself stand out and be remembered (like, be genuine/real)

Good luck with the wedding Kyle!

4 08 2010
kylekealohaaldous

“I just want to know why I would want to be around you for 8 hours a day!”

Hahaha – loved your response!

Leave a Reply

