new spice.

19 07 2010

I love a good remake.

Most of the time they’re not as good as the original…

But sometimes they’re spot-on and the remake is just as good.

Exhibit A:

This video has over 1 million views!
It’s been online for less than a week!

Almost as amazing as the popularity of the video are the comments.
Thousands of comments!

Did you see anything on the video that actively promoted the LDS church or it’s doctrines?
Nope.

Yet, there are quite a few comments that are anti-mormon.

Hating on LDS beliefs is a popular past-time for anti-mormons.

Why the need for all of the trash talking?
On my mission I remember talking with several anti-mormons. It never went well. The ones I spoke with were very animated and quick to contend.
Why the contention?

Do we have some quirky things about us?
Most definitely.
Jello. Church ball. Casserole. Mormon jargon. Quick weddings.
We are definitely a peculiar people.

“…Lord hath chosen thee to be a peculiar people unto himself.” (Deuteronomy 14:2)

I’m not forcing them to believe what I do.
America was founded on the freedom of religion. Of course history shows that the freedoms promised had some hiccups over the years.

I’m not down with arguing religion.
If you want to learn more I’ll gladly talk. If you’d like to just argue – well, I don’t have time for that.

? How do you like to handle LDS naysayers?

Actions

Information

2 responses

20 07 2010
Angela

That is a great commercial. Way to go Y for picking up on that!

You know I have a few friends who’ve left the church with varying levels of anti-ness. Usually it is just a respect each other and not fight/discuss much. But there is a friend who has an anti-mormon blog. I just had to stop reading it after a while.

20 07 2010
Anthony Ambriz

There is a great article in July’s Ensign: Sharing the Gospel with Confidence By Elder M. Russell Ballard.

Few Excerpt: “We don’t have to defend or justify anything when we base our position on the teachings of the Son of God and do our best to keep His commandments”

“If we want to be respected today for who we are, then we need to act confidently-secure in the knowledge of who we are and what we stand for.”

Its a good read and I highly recommend it.

I remember my wife and I use to get a lot of anti-mormon comments on our family blog. So we made a post addressing this anonymous writer. Post here close to the bottom. http://www.theambrizfamily.com/2009/04/winter-semester-summary.html

Leave a Reply

