data smog.

10 07 2010

I wanted to write about this topic yesterday, but I just couldn’t ignore LeBron James…

Now, I’m back talking about the overwhelming desire we have to document every facet of our “interesting” lives.

Here’s a quote from a book called Data Smog:

As we severely limit content, we learn to savor it more. I experienced this paradox firsthand when I asked my brother Jon to film my wedding. He used an old Super8. -SNIP- The three-minute films he created are cherished glimpses into our wedding and reception, in marked contrast to an uninterrupted three-hour video that dulls our senses and renders useless our memories. A medium that captures almost everything conveys almost nothing.

A medium that captures almost everything CONVEYS almost nothing.

I live with my grandparents, an avid traveling couple who loves to document the journeys they take.

I’ve been helping Grandpa for years with iMovie. We’ve uploaded hours and hours and hours and hours of footage.
(To be fair, they take very interesting trips – it would be hard not to want to video everything)

However, not much editing occurs after the video has been uploaded.
Some choppy parts are cut and a title is thrown on it – but that’s about it.

They’re cool videos – but hard to sit through because they can be long.

I think it would be so much better if we cut it down to about a 10 minute video that highlights the high’s and low’s of the trip – a video that actually tells the STORY of the trip (not so much documentary)

It would a video you could easily watch – and at the same time a video that CONVEYS something.

This indulgence in capturing every possible event is a common practice.
Photographers taking pictures till the memory card is full.
Videographers running the film till there is nothing left.
Even some journalists like to watch the words pile up without any regard for the substance within.

Do you get caught up in quantity over quality?

I’ve definitely been in that train of thought.
I’m working on overcoming that by telling myself to focus on the most important parts and forget the excess.

I had a substitute seminary teacher who came in and told all of us that the small books in the Book of Mormon: Jarom, Omni, Words of Mormon were EXCESS.
Ooohh.
That was news to me.

She was WRONG.
SO wrong!

“Wherefore, they are of worth unto the children of men, and he that supposeth that they are not, unto them will I speak particularly, and confine the words unto mine own people; for I know that they shall be of great worth unto them in the last days; for in that day shall they understand them; wherefore, for their good have I written them.” (2 Nephi 25:8)

All of the scriptures are of great worth. Those prophets wrote exactly what we need to hear. They took the highlights, they compressed generations of experiences into a single book.

I imagine if they did a video, we’d probably be able to watch generations of experiences in…. a couple hours.
Nice!

? How do you like to document your life?

Actions

Information

One response

10 07 2010
Angela

Blogging all the way. I started blogging 5 years ago so that I wouldn’t have to email pictures to 20 different people. It has been my connection to people I love and I’ve built friendships through it. I’ve also enjoyed having a history. You know when we were having to figure out how often Tyler has had croup for instance or my health problems I’ve been able to search through the posts and count them up. It is a great resource.

Now that my siblings and I have unlimited text and picture messaging we LOVE sharing bits with each other. At lease once a week Christina and I will share pictures and/or videos with everyone.

Leave a Reply

