manti pageant.

27 06 2010

Yesterday’s was composed of the following:
Whining. Complaining. Bemoaning. Frustration. Anger. Self-pity.

Oh and probably a hint of resentment.

Well, that was my general attitude throughout most of the day.
When I got off work I hurried out and Amy made some comment about how I eager I was to leave. (Duh, I was eager)

I spent last night with Leah.

Have you ever been with someone whose presence somehow is able to diffuse your bad mood?
What amazes me is that she has been doing exactly that since we first became friends.

My bad mood disappeared when I saw her (after she let me take 5 minutes to just vent and get it all out).

We went to the Manti pageant last night down on the grounds of the Manti temple.

I had never been before but heard it was kind of chessy (only partially true).

It tells the story of the restoration of the Gospel and incorporates stories of Joseph Smith, the Nephites/Lamanites and the pioneers.

As we laid on our blanket watching I got that same feeling I had as a missionary when they recounted the First Vision story.
Every single time I got to tell that story as a missionary I felt a confirmation that the story was true.

I haven’t told the story in years.
But as I sat there last night and saw the story I got that same feeling.

Even just thinking about it right now brought a brief reminder of that wonderful feeling.

The story is true.
And because his story is true the church is true.
There is nothing else to worry about.

I have a million and one things I struggle with –
BUT my shortcomings and lack of knowledge can NEVER negate the truthfulness of the Church.

It is true.
I know it.

“For behold, my brethren, it is given unto you to judge, that ye may know good from evil; and the way to judge is as plain, that ye may know with a perfect knowledge, as the daylight is from the dark night.” (Moroni 7:15)

? When was the last time you got that confirming feeling of the truthfulness of the Gospel?

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

