pay it forward.

25 06 2010

I have been going to the driving range over the past few weeks and seen only slight improvements in my swing… until today.

Typically I show up with Kory and we just hit a couple buckets of balls and hope for the best. Since Kory busted his ankle I’ve been showing up alone. I plug my iPod in and just start hitting.

Today I did the usual – but after my second or third shot I got a tap on the shoulder from an older gentleman.
He was not there to tell me how impressed he was with my swing.

For the next hour and a half he proceeded to basically give me a free golf lesson.

He corrected things, we talked about his golfing experience (which involves more years than I’ve been alive).

It was a great experience.

What prompts a stranger to stop his own practice and come help out an obviously struggling beginner.

There are several things;

Kindness (it’s just in your nature to do nice things)
Desire to share (you’ve learned a lot over the years and feel a sense of duty to help others)
Hope to ignite a flame (you want to help light the fire of passion for the subject in someone that you have)
Pay it forward (you remember when someone took time out for you in the beginning and now you want to do the same for someone else)

“And to godliness brotherly kindness; and to brotherly kindness charity.” (2 Peter 1:7)

ALL are great reasons. You might experience one or all of them.

I’ve done it with breakdancing.

Thousands of young men do it with missionary work.
You have been blessed with the Gospel, something you cherish dearly and you want to light the flame in someone else and give them the opportunity to see how great their life can be with it.

Think about what you have to pay forward.

The gospel, a talent or a passion for something. Whatever the case may be, you can have a direct influence on the life of another.

Thank you old man at the driving range for making my golf swing a little better and reminding me that the knowledge, experience and passions we have are not meant to be kept to ourselves.

? What have you paid forward lately?

Actions

Information

2 responses

26 06 2010
Angela

Basically kindness when you’re down on your luck. Maybe it means making bread every few days for a family out of work or offering to watch someones kids. Most of us have been broke or unable to fulfil our obligations and just need a break from responsibility (aka kids) to rest up.

26 06 2010
Melanie

he must have found it painful to watch you….ha ha…just kidding! try to spread kindness wherever you go…you never know when it’s going to come back to you

Leave a Reply

