truman madsen.

21 06 2010

I gave myself a challenge to listen to a church talk each week – instead of choosing a standard conference talk I decided to start Joseph Smith The Prophet by Truman G. Madsen.

If you have not listened to this talk you need to go get it NOW!

You can buy a copy from Deseret Book OR you can find it online for FREE and download it.

It is one of the best profiles of the prophet Joseph Smith I have heard yet.

In case you don’t know who Bro. Madsen is here’s a quick bio from his web site: Madsen Bio

He has done profiles on each of the prophets since the Restoration.

The Joseph Smith profile is one of my favorites and has given me a tremendous appreciation for our first prophet.

Bro. Madsen just made a comment that really hit me this morning – he said that the Joseph Smith said that the people of the church can know exactly what he knew if they would just ask.

He said to “weary the Lord until He blesses you“.

Bro. Madsen made a comment that many times we stop asking the Lord for certain things because we feel bad for bothering him or feel like it might not be important enough.

WRONG!

We need to keep asking.

Bro. Madsen used the story of the importunate widow who never relents in pleading her case before the unjust judge until finally he gives in and says give her what she wants.

“Yet because this widow troubleth me, I will avenge her, lest by her continual coming she weary me.” (Luke 18:8)

I need to become more diligent about asking for the things I need.
Heavenly Father wants to see that I am willing to go the extra mile in my willingness to ask for the things I stand in need of.

? Are you willing to “weary the Lord” in your prayers?

Actions

Information

4 responses

21 06 2010
Brandon

next read or listen to the Life and Teaching of the Prophet Joseph by Madsen, they are even better in my opinion, but Joseph Smith the Prophet is fantastic, it will certainly build testimony of that great man

22 06 2010
kylekealohaaldous

That sounds awesome! I’ll have to check it out – Madsen is sooo knowledgeable it’s crazy!

23 06 2010
ashley

ok so i was hanging out with a friend and i just brought up the newfound info i’ve discovered from this post and she said an old bishop of hers received some advice from the bishop before him and it was “when you’re all alone in the car, pray aloud.” she says it’s absolutely amazing. it’s just a new way to converse with Heavenly Father and it allows Him to get to know you. i’m going to try it while riding my bike tomorrow. i thought you would find this interesting:)

23 06 2010
kylekealohaaldous

LOVE it Ashley – that’s a really cool idea! Plus it pretty much follows the advice that we should always have a prayer in our hearts! Thanks!!!

Leave a Reply

