A small change.

13 06 2010

There has been a lot of talk about the media/technology and it’s influence lately. I’ve been thinking about my own habits and how I can l begin to make small changes in order to use the media/technology as a tool for growth and not my spiritual demise.

I was sitting in sacrament and thought about my compulsive desire to download new movies or TV shows to watch along with music to listen to.

I decided that I should use the technology to pick up something worthwhile to listen to.

The Church has a lot of great materials out there – and there are some members who have compiled some incredible resources to pull from.

I picked up a lot of talks from different prophets and apostles and put them on my iPhone. Every week I will listen to one talk as I am driving around. I will start on Monday and listen until the talk is complete.

I LOVE music – and singing along in the car is one of my favorite things to do. I love hearing the new songs that come out – creating playlists to listen to and then just losing myself in the music. But I think it will be good for me to use part of my driving time to listen to something uplifting. I’m not going to stop listening to music, don’t be ridiculous. But it can’t hurt to split the time, right?

For years my dad has listened to church materials on his drive to and from work. He has listened to the scriptures countless times. I always thought he was missing out on all of the new songs on the radio. (I still think that)

BUT – for some reason, I feel like I need to at least test it out for myself. Maybe I will find that I can’t live without my music (then there is a problem – because I am addicted), or maybe I will find that I don’t miss constant bass thumping and will open myself up for inspiration and personal revelation.

Who knows!

It’s a still and small voice that can reveal things and maybe I have been covering that voice up with Justin Timberlake’s voice all these years!

“And it came to pass that while they were thus conversing one with another, they heard a voice as if it came out of heaven; and they cast their eyes round about, for they understood not the voice which they heard; and it was not a harsh voice, neither was it a loud voice; nevertheless, and notwithstanding it being a small voice it did pierce them that did hear to the center, insomuch that there was no part of their frame that it did not cause to quake; yea, it did pierce them to the very soul, and did cause their hearts to burn.” (3 Nephi 11:3)

? What small change can you make to help open yourself up to greater personal revelation?

Actions

Information

3 responses

13 06 2010
Angela

You know when I was single and delivering pizza’s I put the conference cds in my car and in a week could listen to an entire semi annual conference. It was actually REALLY NICE! I’ve also found (possibly like your dad) that I don’t care about new music. You get so much over played stuff anyway. Plus now I listen to more classic rock anyway (recently discovered in the last year or so). But in the car Reed has gotten me so used to talk radio that now I listen to that by choice unless I’m listening to an audio book.

14 06 2010
kylekealohaaldous

Audio books are the way to go! Although the downside to audio books is that I don’t get to write any notes down on the pages of the book. With fiction books it’s ok… but for non-fiction, I like to have the ability to write notes down if a thought comes to my mind. haha

2 08 2010
Angela

I came across this today and thought you might like a read: http://beingamotherwhoknows.blogspot.com/2010/07/plugged-in.html
She’s right on about most of it. I used to love listening to new music on the radio but man my life was more calm when I stopped and let things quiet a bit. She’s probably a bit extreme for you but still has some good things to think about.

Leave a Reply

