Things as They Really Are.

8 06 2010

My friend Angela sent me the link to Elder Bednar’s latest article in this month’s Ensign, Things as They Really Are. It’s a wonderful talk with some interesting points that caused me to do a quick spiritual check-up.

From the beginning of the article, Elder Bednar makes clear the importance of our bodies:

A truth that really is and always will be is that the body and the spirit constitute our reality and identity. When body and spirit are inseparably connected, we can receive a fulness of joy; when they are separated, we cannot receive a fulness of joy.”

Elder Bednar then talks about several ways Satan tempts us to misuse our bodies. The typical Sunday School answers include; breaking the law of chastity and word of wisdom. However, he includes several other ways we misuse our bodies that don’t always get included in our standard answers.

1. “We diminish the importance of our bodies and jeopardize our physical well-being by going to unusual and dangerous extremes searching for an ever-greater and more exhilarating adrenaline “rush.

All of you adrenaline junkies out there beware!

It makes sense. There are other ways to feel “alive” and get a “rush” besides placing yourself in potentially dangerous situations. I’m not sure Heavenly Father gave us our bodies so that we could see how far we could push the limit of losing them. I doubt when we were in the pre-existence that we were excited about trying to lose the body that we would be provided.

2. “Sadly, some young men and young women in the Church today ignore “things as they really are” and neglect eternal relationships for digital distractions, diversions, and detours that have no lasting value.”

I LOVE this. He talks about video games and social networking. Again the main point to consider is this; what is the PURPOSE of having a body? Were we sent here to become proficient in killing zombies, or even mastering a digital soccer game? When I get to the other side, will I be rewarded for having beat every Call of Duty video game?

NO! NO! NO!

As I read the article I had an overwhelming feeling of gratitude for the gift of my body.

I mentioned the other day that I was worried I had invested time in a hobby that was useless. When I think about the good that has come from the physical exercise and discipline I learned and the lives of the kids I have touched I am SO grateful. It was WELL worth all of the time I put into it.

Elder Bednar mentions that when we place a higher value on video games, TV, movies and online games we run the risk of becoming as Laman and Lemuel of old:

“…but ye were past feeling, that ye could not feel his words…” (1 Nephi 17:45)

“I raise an apostolic voice of warning about the potentially stifling, suffocating, suppressing, and constraining impact of some kinds of cyberspace interactions and experiences upon our souls.”

What an incredible talk. I HIGHLY recommend reading it and considering things you can do to make the most of the body you have been blessed with. (Thanks Angela for recommending it to me)

? What are some ways you have taken full advantage of the body you have been blessed with?

Actions

Information

2 responses

8 06 2010
Angela

The thing that keeps banging around in my head about this talk, and I need to read it three or thirty more times, is that I avoid using my body through my hatred of phones and fear of certain social situations. I used to be incredibly social but over time have withdrawn back into my shell. I text instead of make phone calls. I email instead of use the phone. I avoid eye contact simply so I can avoid conversations with people. For a while I added facebook notifications to my phone so as to have more “interaction” without actually doing so. There are other things I do to avoid getting out there.

The first thing I did after reading this was turn off notifications and I’ve stopped texting when I’m around other people. I ignore my phone more and try to be where I am. I’ve made a personal commitment to pick up the phone more.

It is way too easy to interact mostly online and ignore the world around us.

9 06 2010
kylekealohaaldous

Interesting outlook. I never thought about how avoiding certain social situations could actually be a misuse as well. Wow. I should probably go reread that talk now! I think it will be difficult to make full use of our bodies in every way possible. Even after reading the talk and writing the blog I still want to go play a quick game of FIFA on the Xbox. hahaha

Leave a Reply

