non-profit hobby.

7 06 2010

I was recently informed that the hobby I have pursued since my Senior year in high school is useless.

No significant monetary gain has been achieved during my time as a bboy (I’ve only won small stuff – and teaching wasn’t a big cash cow either)

And now what?

It was easy in Virginia to say that it was time to find a new passion because there was no real opportunities to bboy.
Now that I’m back it’s a whole different story.

Most of my close friends are bboys. They practice. They compete.

I’ve limited myself to once a week.

I have other priorities now:
Leah.
Work.

Well, yeah that pretty much fills up all my time.
(and I’ve started hitting the driving range with my brother)

The idea of completely stopping doesn’t sit well.

But I guess it never will. It will just be something I have to accept as part of my past, not my future.

But when?
It’s hard to do that while I live here.

I’ve been listening to Outliers by Malcolm Gladwell as I have been driving around and it reminded me of the 10,000 hour rule for greatness.

I blogged once about how I’ve practiced for roughly 1,200 hours (probably more like 1,300 now). This puts me nowhere near greatness.

But 1,300 hours is ALOT.

Did I make a mistake choosing to spend 1,300 hours breakdancing?
Should I have chosen to develop a different talent?

As a kid you don’t think about these things.

But at 26, I can’t stop thinking about it.

If I start something new now and make that my new passion then by the time I’m 30, 35, 40 I could proficient in something entirely different.

But what to choose?

Is the person who chooses something like photography or gardening as a hobby more profitable than the person who chooses breakdancing?
In some aspects, yes.

I just don’t know what I’m more passionate about than breakdancing that will provide me some kind of monetary returns.

Have I missed out on developing other talents and now forfeited them because I didn’t give them the same time I gave to breakdancing?

“Take therefore the talent from him, and give it unto him which hath ten talents…” (Matthew 25:28)

? What hobbies have you pursued – and do you feel like you should have pursued something else?

? What would you recommend for me to pursue now?

Actions

Information

4 responses

7 06 2010
Anthony Ambriz

When I interview The Crate Dwellers they talked about how they DJ and it brings some money but even if it isn’t how they will make their living they will always DJ.

No you didn’t waste your time.

I’m not that great at B-boying but I think about the kids that I’ve met and the smiles they have had on their faces. The opportunities to serve in the community. The contacts I’ve made the friends I’ve made. And its all worth it. I think a scripture would help out here

Mosiah 2:17 “And behold, I tell you these things that ye may learn wisdom; that ye may learn that when ye are in the service of your fellow beings ye are only in the service of your God.”

B-boying has provided awesome opportunities to serve.

Its great exercise, pushes limits, and opens doors.

In my case I pursue multiple things but never really master any of them. But I use all the things I’ve learned to be good at what I put my focus on. Be it work, home, school, projects etc..

Dude, I say use your B-boy talents the degree you got and team up with me so we can make some money producing shows or start an organization to help the community. I have ideas like crazy we should meet and talk about them sometime.

7 06 2010
kylekealohaaldous

I’m totally down man! I’ve been doing some freelance PR work lately for a couple guys and I’d love to sit down and chat with you about your ideas. My schedule is really weird, but I’m free on Wednesday till about 4, I could meet you on campus or wherever n we could chat. Hit me up and let me know!

7 06 2010
Angela

When I think about your dancing I think about your health and how much you’ve exercised and how that has and will bless your life. I’d imagine you have some amazing upper body strength which helps keep you strong and will benefit you. This is the primary reason I think break dancing is great – the exercise and strength training without gear – that is why I’m happy Tyler is interested.

If you have to find a new hobby then learn about fixing things. Every wife LOVES having a husband who can fix minor things on the car/lawnmower and do household repairs!

11 06 2010
Elder Funk

As Angela said, you are in great shape and if that can be attributed to practicing for breakdancing it has been a good investment. As your blog suggested, it isn’t something that you can do when you get to my age (nearly 70). I suggest that between ages 8 and the mid-20s there is time for hobbies. When you get to my age, again there is time for hobbies. In between, not so much. I was pretty much just working and watching my wife raise our 4 children when I joined the church. Soon after and for the next 40 years serving in the church has been my hobby and passion. I understand what I owe the Lord and know that I can never repay, but i can serve to show him how much I appreciate His sacrifice. Besides, I found that serving brings more enjoyment than bowling, … ever did. And I can serve until I am looking at the grass from the bottom up.

Leave a Reply

