robin hood.

6 06 2010

Leah and I went to see Robin last night.

I have always loved the Robin Hood story…

Let’s see, in the beginning we had Errol Flynn:

Then we had a fox:

Then Kevin Costner joined in:

And now we have former Gladiator, Russell Crowe:

The movie is kind of a Robin Hood Begins type thing. But I loved it.

Ever since I first saw Robin Hood as a kid I have been fascinated with the idea of “stealing from the rich to give to the poor“.

I’m not talking about the rich people who already help out and do good things with their money. I’m talking about the bad guys – you know, the Sheriff of Nottinghams and the Prince John’s of our time.

Who would those be?
Hhmm.. Drug dealers?
I’m not sure actually. Any ideas?

That’s beside the point. My main question is this – if you commit a crime that is done to benefit others is it still wrong?

(I LOVE talking about ethical dillemas – and I love playing devils advocate, so it doesn’t matter which side you’re on, I’ll most likely try arguing the other side for a bit)

Well, if it is considered a sin then you’re in trouble because:

“… the Lord cannot look upon sin with the least degree of allowance…” (D&C 1:31)

So, that settles that.
The real question then is – is it a sin?

I could argue both sides for hours, BUT the bottom line is that we have been given certain commandments.

Thou shalt not steal is one of them.

I don’t remember Moses adding any amendments to the 10 Commandments.

Thou shalt not steal… except when –
a. You are stealing something back.
b. You feel you deserve to have something else.
c. The person you are stealing from didn’t earn it either.

Can you imagine if the commandments had an accompanying set of amendments to specify certain terms and conditions?

It just doesn’t work that way. (Although sometimes I think it would be fun to have some random terms conditions thrown in)

Heavenly Father tends to be very straight forward in His commandments.

? Is it a sin to steal something if you are going to use it to help others?
? Is it a sin to steal from someone who has stolen from everyone else?

Actions

Information

4 responses

6 06 2010
anthony ambriz

DUDE! You forgot Cary Elwes from Robin Hood Man in Tights the greatest Robin Hood movie ever made…

“we’re men, manly men, we’re men in tights!”

7 06 2010
kylekealohaaldous

Hahaha! I can’t believe I forgot about that movie!! SO funny!

6 06 2010
Melanie

pretty much black and white here–yes, these are the days when men shall call evil good and good evil

7 06 2010
Watch Southpark

Yeah and next we’ll be debating oil spills! šŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

