balancing act.

4 06 2010

How much time do you get to spend with your spouse/significant other?

I don’t get very much.
I’m wondering if that’s just something every couple deals with or if we are some kind of anomaly?

I imagine most couples struggle to figure out how to match their schedules up so they can spend time together.

Is there ever a time where you just have to say, enough is enough, I need to cut some stuff out of my life so that i can spend more time with the person I love?

My schedule is bizarre and Leah’s schedule isn’t much better. The only time we seem to be able to match things up is between 10 pm and midnight or on Sunday.
It sucks.

And it’s starting to take a toll on the relationship.
I just feel like we don’t get to talk as much as we used to and despite living 5 miles apart we don’t see each other very often either.

I’ve always been taught that the phrase “I don’t have enough time” is an excuse (and not a very good one).
If it is a priority then you will MAKE the time, right?

I love her more than anything.

But it’s that love that pushes me to take on extra work so that I can be as prepared as possible for marriage (financially speaking).

How do you balance that?

It seems like this is one of those; good, better, best situations, right?

“…and behold, there is one thing which is of more importance than they all…” (Alma 7:7)

The scripture is talking about the coming of the Savior – but there are some things in life more important than others.

I imagine it is a case of each couple doing what is best for them – and Leah and I will have to figure something out for ourselves.

BUT – I’m definitely interested in hearing how you find the time in your busy schedules to spend quality time with your loved one.

?How do you balance work, church, life and spending time with your spouse/boyfriend/girlfriend?

Actions

Information

2 responses

4 06 2010
Angela

Having kids brings in a whole new level. On one hand all my energy goes to the kids and on the other somehow I have to have enough energy at night to spend time with the husband. Then when he’s actually home he needs to have time with the kids and me and household work. Then there is the cost of dates and child care and, and, and. You just do it. You make the most of the time you have together. You talk/text/email/don’t waste the time you have together. Just do it!

4 06 2010
Anthony Ambriz

Let me solve your problem with one statement and then add a bunch of other stuff. ha ha

You will never be financially prepared for marriage.

Rarely does that happen. Think about it back in the days when people got married at 16 or younger were they financially ready? Nope, if my research serves me right family members would pitch in and build a house and all that jive.

When Bekah and I got married I didn’t have a job. Crazy I know. But through prayer and wedding money we made it through the first month. We even got help for an entire year from our parents. Now we make it. We actually get to save some cash and get out of debt. It won’t take just a few months or a year to get out of debt or save as much money as we want but we will eventually get there.

What’s most important is that we get to wherever we want to get to, together.

So really Kyle just make the time. Sundays are nice but you need another day as well. Spending time at night is dangerous so watch out! When you’re married then its awesome! You’ll figure it out…

Also like Angela said the kids thing is a whole other level.

One last thing. When you’re married you find out you need to make time for yourself. Cause that’s important too.

By the way did you find time to work out?

Leave a Reply

