memorial day.

31 05 2010

The downside of working retail?
Well, there’s a lot, but I’m only thinking of one right now.

National holidays are not recognized.

In fact holidays are usually busy times for retail stores.

So, my Memorial Day will not be spent by the pool – or at a BBQ. It will be spent closing up at the store.

Lame.

Although, I did hit the driving range this morning with Kory – so I guess I can’t complain too much.

The word vacation cannot be found in the scriptures.
Too bad.

Can you imagine if Nephi and his family came over to the Promised land on a Carnival Cruise ship? (I can – and Laman and Lemuel are a lot nicer in my version)

What if Ammon got a day off to relax after protecting Lamoni’s sheep?

It seems like most of these guys end up working all the time.

Heavenly Father rested at the end of the week.

“and I rested on the seventh day from all my work…” (Moses 3:2)

But we all know Sunday doesn’t count as vacation – typically Sundays are just as busy as other days of the week.

Dang.
I need to find a job that comes with some vacation days.

? Anybody have great Memorial Day plans?

Actions

Information

2 responses

31 05 2010
Kailynn

Luckily our retail store did close! So Dallas and I did lay by a pool and go to a BBQ…sorry man! That’s one thing I loved about my teaching job (no Saturdays and no holidays; it’s wonderful).

1 06 2010
Melanie

if it makes you feel better, we just cleaned house that day!

Leave a Reply

