hunger games.

29 05 2010

It’s funny how I have done more reading since I graduated form school then I did while I was in school. (this includes the reading I should have been doing to study)

I read everyday for a little bit and LOVE it.
I recently began a book called Hunger Games by Suzanne Collins.

I’m not too far into the book but it’s been a great read so far.

The basic premise is that the United States as we know it is gone. There are districts set up across the land and a central government located in “The Capital“.

Every year a boy and girl are chosen to compete in the Hunger Games – a fight to the death (televised throughout the land).

Basically it’s like kids doing fatal UFC for a year supply of food.

Can you imagine if each state was basically starving and the only way to secure a proper amount of food for the upcoming year was to have your states representative (boy or girl) be the last child standing in a fight to the death.

That’s a lot of pressure.

My biggest concern at 16 was dating. To be fair though, dating can be quite stressful.

Did any kids in the scriptures have stressful situations to handle?

Imagine being 17 (estimated age) and killing Goliath.
Or being 17 (estimated age) and being into slavery by your brothers.
Or being 14 and learning you are supposed to restore the true church to the Earth?

I imagine those were relatively stressful situations.

I guess I’ll just stick to the situations, trials, etc. that I have with the understanding that:

“…he shall prepare a way for them that they may accomplish the thing which he commandeth them…” (1 Nephi 3:7)

? What stresses you out?

Actions

Information

3 responses

29 05 2010
Melanie

what stresses me out? WHEN THINGS ARE BEYOND MY CONTROL!–loved Hunger Games…Catching Fire is great too

29 05 2010
Angela

Wow that sounds intense! I’ll add it to the list! I think a fundamental need that stresses me out is sleep. When I or someone in my family do not get enough our world falls apart. We had family stay the night last night on their way through town, Reed’s family I’d never met but who were wonderful. We all got to bed way too late so I was not doing so good this afternoon and my sweet, sweet Tyler was mean and belligerent. So we laid down, I learned that rubbing his back helped calm him and we both were able to take good naps and wake up happy.

29 05 2010
kylekealohaaldous

I just woke up from a nap and completely agree! Getting enough sleep makes a huge difference!!

Leave a Reply

