green peace.

27 05 2010

Today is yard day.

I take care of the yard and help with other random outdoor tasks as often as necessary around here.

I did these things growing up as well.

Weeding.
Mowing.
Shoveling.
Planting.
Edging.
Trimming.
and the list goes on.

If you drove past the Aldous home on a Saturday morning you would see 6 kids and 2 parents working in the yard.

If you didn’t know we lived at the house you might think we were a migrant worker family who liked to make yard work a family activity.

I guess it’s not too far from the truth – well the second part at least.

I never really liked yard work growing up.

Dad always said working in the yard was peaceful and relaxing. I found the opposite to be true. I hurried through the work so I could get to the pool!

It’s funny the things that change as you get older.

I love going out into the yard.

Maybe Dad has been right all these years?
Wouldn’t be the first time Dad was right about something and it took me years to realize it. Ugh.

We know that everything was created spiritually first – does that mean that Heavenly Father had “spiritual” yard work?

“…For it was spiritual in the day that I created it; for it remaineth in the sphere in which I, God, created it, yea, even all things which I prepared for the use of man…” (Moses 3:9)

? Do you like working out in the yard?

Actions

Information

5 responses

27 05 2010
Angela

I don’t love it but it is nice. Reed on the other hand rots inside if he can’t pace around his yard. When we bought our first house three years ago it was like a whole different Reed existed. He’d go out back after work and walk around the yard dreaming. Now he walks around the front since that is where our garden is. He’s a guy who can’t live in an apartment, he must be in a house so he has a piece of dirt that he can use to his liking. He is a pacer and it is nice to send him outside to pace!

27 05 2010
Brandon

I like yard work because it gets my lazy butt up and active and gets extra energy out, but man in this Texas heat it isn’t pleasant. and I don’t have a pool to jump into afterward.

I think about the Garden of Eden when I think of how I would like yard work to be, did Adam sweat before he and Eve ate the fruit, does this mean that the grass, and other plants were always at their best without any care from Adam and Eve.

Man that would be nice

27 05 2010
Holly

When I was younger my sisters and I didn’t really like 3 day weekends because we knew it meant a Monday of yard work. Pretty much without fail Monday morning our parents would wake us up and tell us to come help out in the yard. Pulling spurge (a terrible vine/weed thing) was the worst!

28 05 2010
Charis Aldous

I have always been eternally grateful that your dads second love is the yard. I will work in it and I always have. I even use to do the mowing during the week before you were old enough to take over so your dad could spend time doing the garden and other things. But it’s doesn’t rank on any list of mine as something I want or like to do.

However, I have to confess that I love to eat what comes from the garden, fruit trees and berries and I love how beautiful the yard looks when all the work is been done!

Charis

31 10 2010
Energy Efficient Window :

our family activities are mostly related to leisure and running of family business ~

Leave a Reply

